ARIZONA

What is now the state of Arizona was carved out of the territory of New Mexico. It became a territory in its own right in 1863,¹ with its own territorial courts. Statehood occurred on February 14, 1912, with the state organized as a single-district and housed in the Ninth Circuit.

AZ.ST.02 was created as a temporary line in 1922, and converted to a permanent position in 1935.² AZ.ST.13 was authorized as a temporary line,³ with the stipulation that the first vacancy occurring on the court ten years or more after the confirmation of the initial occupant would not be filled. Arizona remains in the Ninth Circuit and has thirteen district judgeships.

Statutory Authority				
Seat	Legislation	Authority		
AZ.ST.01	Act of June 20, 1910	36 Stat. 557		
AZ.ST.02	Act of September 14, 1922	42 Stat. 837		
AZ.ST.03	Act of May 19, 1961	75 Stat. 80		
AZ.ST.04	Act of March 18, 1966	80 Stat. 75		
AZ.ST.05	Act of June 2, 1970	84 Stat. 294		
AZ.ST.06	Act of October 20, 1978	92 Stat. 1629		
AZ.ST.07	Act of October 20, 1978	92 Stat. 1629		
AZ.ST.08	Act of October 20, 1978	92 Stat. 1629		
AZ.ST.09	Act of November 29, 1999	113 Stat. 1501		
AZ.ST.10	Act of November 29, 1999	113 Stat. 1501		
AZ.ST.11	Act of November 29, 1999	113 Stat. 1501		
AZ.ST.12	Act of December 15, 2000	114 Stat. 2762		
AZ.ST.13	Act of November 2, 2002	116 Stat. 1758		

¹Act of February 24, 1863, 12 STAT. 664.

²Act of August 19, 1935, 49 STAT. 659.

³Act of November 2, 2002, 116 STAT. 1758.

Seat Histories					
Position #	Name	Date of Confirmation	Date of Departure	Reason	Party
AZ.ST.01.01	Sloan, Richard Elihu ⁴	Unconfirmed recess appointment ⁵	March 4, 1913	Not confirmed	Republican
AZ.ST.01.02	Sawtelle, William Henry	August 18, 1913	January 29, 1931	Elevated to the Ninth Circuit	Democrat
AZ.ST.01.03	Sames, Albert Morris	February 6, 1931	April 1, 1946	Retired	Republican
AZ.ST.01.04	Speakman, Howard	April 9, 1946	June 17, 1952	Deceased	Democrat
AZ.ST.01.05	Walsh, James Augustine	July 5, 1952	July 9, 1976	Retired	Democrat
AZ.ST.01.06	Richey, Mary Anne ⁶	June 16, 1976	November 25, 1983	Deceased	Republican
AZ.ST.01.07	Browning, William D.	April 24, 1984	July 31, 1998	Retired	Republican
AZ.ST.01.08	Collins, Raner Christercunean	July 31, 1998	Active	Active	Democrat

⁴Recess appointment, August 26, 1912. Sloan's nomination was bound up in senatorial and to some extent presidential politics. He was a Republican, nominated by a Republican President (Taft), yet both Arizona senators at the time were Democrats. Although considered well qualified as a potential jurist, thinking that a Democrat would be elected president in 1912, the confirmation process stalled in the Senate. Sloan subsequently resigned on Inauguration Day, 1913. See John S. Goff, The Organization of the Federal District Court in Arizona, *The American Journal of Legal History* 8 (1964): 172-79.

⁵Recess appointment, August 26, 1912

⁶First female district judge appointed from Arizona.

⁷First African American district judge appointed from Arizona.

AZ.ST.02.01	Jacobs, Fred Clinton	March 2, 1923	May 31, 1936	Retired	Republican
AZ.ST.02.02	Ling, David W.	May 30, 1936	October 11, 1964	Retired	Democrat
AZ.ST.02.03	Muecke, Charles A.	September 29, 1964	November 30, 1984	Retired	Democrat
AZ.ST.02.04	Strand, Roger G.	July 19, 1985	April 28, 2000	Retired	Republican
AZ.ST.02.05	Martone, Frederick J.	December 13, 2001	Active	Active	Republican
AZ.ST.03.01	Davis, Arthur M.	August 21, 1961	July 11, 1963	Deceased	Democrat
AZ.ST.03.02	Craig, Walter Early	September 25, 1963	October 1, 1979	Retired	Democrat
AZ.ST.03.03	Hardy, Charles L.	May 21, 1980	June 2, 1990	Retired	Democrat
AZ.ST.03.04	McNamee, Stephen M.	May 11, 1990	Active	Active	Republican
AZ.ST.04.01	Copple, William P.	October 20, 1966	November 30, 1983	Retired	Democrat
AZ.ST.04.02	Rosenblatt, Paul G.	June 8, 1984	March 15, 2004	Retired	Republican
AZ.ST.04.03	Wake, Neil Vincent	March 12, 2004	Active	Active	
A 77 CTF 0.7 0.1	E 20.11.	N 1 25	F.1 10	D 1	D 11'
AZ.ST.05.01	Frey, William C.	November 25, 1970	February 18, 1979	Deceased	Republican
AZ.ST.05.02	Bilby, Richard Mansfield	September 25, 1979	May 29, 1996	Retired	Republican
AZ.ST.05.03	Zapata, Frank R.	July 31, 1996	Active	Active	Democrat
AZ.ST.06.01	Carroll, Earl Hamblin	June 26, 1980	October 10, 1994	Retired	Democrat

AZ.ST.06.02	Moore-Silver, Roslyn	October 7, 1994	Active	Active	Independent
AZ.ST.07.01	Marquez, Alfred C.	June 26, 1980	July 25, 1991	Retired	Democrat
AZ.ST.07.02	Roll, John McCarthy	November 22, 1991	Active	Active	Republican
AZ.ST.08.01	Cordova, Valdemar A. ⁸	June 19, 1979	April 20, 1984	Retired	Democrat
AZ.ST.08.02	Broomfield, Robert C.	July 10, 1985	August 12, 1999	Retired	Republican
AZ.ST.08.03	Bolton, Susan Ritchie	October 3, 2000	Active	Active	Independent
AZ.ST.09.01	Murguia, Mary H.	October 3, 2000	Active	Active	Democrat
AZ.ST.10.01	Teilborg, James A.	October 3, 2000	Active	Active	Republican
AZ.ST.11.01	Jorgenson, Cindy K.	February 26, 2002	Active	Active	Republican
AZ.ST.12.01	Bury, David C.	March 15, 2002	Active	Active	Republican
AZ.ST.13.01	Campbell, David G.	July 8, 2003	Active	Active	

⁸First Hispanic district judge appointed from Arizona.