

# A note regarding the PJA Traditional Rank Structure

Sensei Chris Nicholas - PJA President

In 2022, the Senior members of the PJA discussed returning to the 5 Dan structure of Kodenkan Jujitsu used by both Master Okazaki and Dai Sensei William Montero. Sensei McKean made the final decision to return to a 5 Dan ranking system in May 2022. This decision included the wearing of only a simple black belt with embroidered kanji of gold or red.

The ranks would be as follows:

Black Belt - Rank 1
Advanced Black Belt - Rank 2
Black Belt Instructor - Rank 3
Advanced Black Belt Instructor - Rank 4
Master Black Belt Instructor - Rank 5

The goal of the PJA is to support the Sensei and his Dojo on their path in the Martial Arts. Allowing the Dojo Sensei to choose the path he wishes to follow, allows that Sensei to express his best practice in propagating the teachings of Kodenkan Jujitsu.

## P.J.A. Promotion Certificates

Revised: July 7, 2022

### Master Black Belt Instructor - Rank 5

Robert McKean

Chris Nicholas

Robert Korody

Troy Shehorn

Gerry Halligan

**Daniel Butler** 

Frank Borges

Tom Lang

Jon Sylvia

Ashley Rebmann

Danny Barrett Bill Thorndike Robbin Miller

#### Advanced Black Belt Instructor - Rank 4

Jeff Baxter Kathleen Nicholas Nancy Soares

### Black Belt Instructor - Rank 3

Tim Brown

Eric Soares (Deceased – posthumously awarded)

**Kevin Lollis** 

Charlie Fielder

**Brandon Johnson** 

**Bruce Anders** 

Isaac Leija

Susan Heist

Dan Sisson

Andriy Yevsyevev

Noaeh Pinaire

Donovan Ely

**Brian Rice** 

**Ross Anthony** 

John Fiore

### Advanced Black Belt - Rank 2

Rick Heilmann

Mark Allen

Sam Kennedy

Dan Tiburcio

Phillip Palamo

**Dorian Brito** 

Kevin Bird

Vikram Sarath

Edy de Leon

Marian Rice

### Black Belt - Rank 1

**Bob Opsal** 

Mark Landreth

Rick Colbaccina

Stephanie Wong **Chris Wong** Mike Vorhis Eric Dionisio Jose Camba Jon Sagnep Jim Nicholas **Brandon Hamlet** Tucker Plunk Meghan Gainer **Craig Phildius** Kurt Sherman Taylor Furry Shelly Wheeler **Armand Gilbert** Dan Hansen Martin Huerta Janine Simpson Jesse Siegrist **Dallas Wauters** Rebecca Groendyk Mitch Stephens

#### CJN 09/21/22