
Good morning……hope all is well with you and you are ready for important games tonight and 
tomorrow. The groundhog saw his shadow so spring should be here right about state finals right? Yea, 
right….. Many seedings for playoffs will be decided in the next two weeks. We are in the ‘last 2 minutes 
of the game’ so to speak as far as the season goes……we need to be on top of our game, at our best. 
 
One additional comment to yesterday’s clip of the intentional foul…..in a ‘tense’ situation like this fairly 
severe contact, when making the call, freeze a little longer to make sure there is no retaliation from the 
foul. You know you are going to talk to a partner, no need to rush. That being said, as partners, we need 
to recognize right away that our partner just had an ‘intense’ situation and may have a little more 
excitement, so help out by making sure nothing happens. In the clip yesterday (you can see it on here), 
white 40 comes walking in clapping his hands….certainly not because his teammate just got crushed, but 
almost baiting/taunting red 31 who committed the foul. We just need to be on high alert in a situation 
like this. 
 
Today’s tip…….throw-in plane and what can violate that. Defensively, the defender of a throw-in may 
not cross the boundary line at all……we have 3 cases when he/she does: 
 

1) Breaking the plane with no contact on the thrower-in or the ball results in a delay of game 
warning. This is a judgment call by the official in determining if the defender broke the vertical 
plane above the OOB line. If the official determines that the plane has been broken with no 
contact, blow the whistle, take the ball back from the thrower-in (give it to a partner if it is easy 
to) and go to the table to report the delay warning. Tell the scorekeeper “Write in the margin 
that we have delay of game on #15 white at 2:34 of the first quarter.” After reporting this to the 
table, tell the head coach about the delay warning. This must be done in case a second delay 
happens. In addition, the FIRST time a delay happens, record it. Some teams make it a habit of 
hitting the ball after a goal, for example, in order to help get a press set up right away. 

2) Breaking the plane and contacting the ball is NOT a judgment call and is by rule a technical foul.  
The clip today is an example of this. We may NOT say “the defender reached across the plane 
before contacting the ball so it is just a delay warning.” The action of reaching across and 
contacting the ball is to be considered one action (10-4-10). In addition, remember that if the 
defender reaches through and hits the thrower-in’s HAND while it is on the ball, it is the same as 
hitting the ball…technical foul. 

3) Breaking the plane and contacting the thrower-in is NOT a judgment call and is by rule an 
intentional personal foul  (9-2-10 penalty 4). 

 
Here are a few case plays for these situations: 
 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0BdW-mdo6vcNC1yRmtYVGppUkk/view?usp=sharing


 

 
 
Take a look at the clip here. 
 
These are plays we can get caught off guard on….just be aware and recognize it when you see it. 
 
Have a great game tonight, be safe, be focused and be alive during a dead ball situations. 
 
Tim 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0BdW-mdo6vcTy12bmJnSzc0NXM/view?usp=sharing

