

The Water Spout

Upcoming Dates in 2021

- Texas Ground Water Association Annual Meeting and Trade Show, August 1-4, San Marcos Conference Center
- Texas Alliance for Water Conservation Field Day, August 19, Lubbock Ag Museum
- Texas Plant Protection Association Annual Conference, December 7,8, Brazos Center in Bryan.
- IA Irrigation Show and Education Week, San Diego, California. December 6-10. Trade Show December 8,9.

New Beginnings

As everyone is well aware, 2020 was, to say the least, unusual and challenging. TAIA, along with its members, experienced different situations and circumstances throughout the year and well into 2021. This edition of the Newsletter is an attempt to take a collective deep breath, get up to date on happenings in 2020, and look forward optimistically to a better remainder of this year and into 2022.

Officers and board members elected to serve in 2020 were: President, David Lott; Vice President, Eddy Riggins; Secretary-Treasurer, Craig Jones; East Region Representative, Jason Hester; South Region Representative, Greg Sokora; At-Large Representative , Don Mooring.

By email vote in December, in lieu of an annual meeting, the following officers and Board Members were selected to serve in 2021.

2021 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

President	Eddy Riggins	Equipment Supply Co., Inc
Vice-President	Craig Jones	Netafim USA
Secretary-Treasurer	David Wiens	Green Planet Drip
Past President	David Lott	Fresno Valve & Casting
West Rep.		
East Rep.	Jason Hester	Nelson Irrigation
North Rep.	McClain Pool	Eco-Drip
South Rep.	Jesus Mendez	WINNSUPPLY
At-Large	Trey Hilger	Eco-Drip
At-Large	Bobby De Leon	Rivulis

New Members Welcome

The Board of Directors of the Texas Agricultural Irrigation Association thanks all it's members for their past and continuing support. How about recruiting some of your friends and colleagues to join TAIA in 2021 and strengthen our organization?

TAIA Participation in 2021 Ag Conferences

The Texas Agricultural Irrigation Association will be at the Texas Alliance for Water Conservation Field Day as a sponsor and exhibitor. This years Field Day is being held at the Bayer Museum for Agriculture in Lubbock., August 19.

The Texas Plant Protection Association is holding its Annual Conference December 7,8 in Bryan, Texas at the Brazos Center. As in last years virtual conference, there will be a breakout session on Irrigation and Water Management, coordinated by TAIA's Education Advisor, Dana Porter, Texas AgriLife. TAIA will be a sponsor and exhibitor at this event.

Dick Laursen Memorial Scholarship

The Dick Laursen Memorial Scholarship was created in honor of Dick Laursen, a lifelong irrigation specialist. Dick was born in 1942 into a Nebraska ranching/farming family. He began his career as a purchasing agent for a pivot manufacturer; then moved on to Rainbird Ag before partnering to open SWISH Inc., an irrigation company. With his partners, Dick spent the rest of his life building SWISH, until his death in 1998. He was one of the founding members of TAIA. The scholarship was established in 2002 and has assisted students pursuing ag related majors in each of the years since.

Fifteen applications were received for the 2019 Scholarship. The Scholarship Committee; Greg Sokora, Mark McCormick and Anthony Kingery selected Carley Turner as the recipient. She is from Matador, Texas, and has been very active in 4-H and FFA in high school. She is attending Angelo State University majoring in Agribusiness.

Twenty six applications were received in 2020. Emma Weinheimer was awarded the scholarship. Emma is from Groom, Texas and is currently attending West Texas A&M majoring in Agribusiness. She plans to continue her education and earn a Master's Degree and return to the family farm to help manage and operate their dry-land and irrigated production. She is combining a college education with her practical skills learned in the field operating and servicing center-pivot systems.

Of the thirteen applicants in 2021, Mallie Williams of Groom, Texas, received the scholarship and will attend Tarleton State University beginning Fall Semester, 2021. She plans to major in Ag Services and Development. Thanks to this year's scholarship committee; Mark McCormick, Anthony Kingery and Eddy Riggins for their work in reviewing the applications and awarding the scholarship.









From the President

Greetings to all!

I hope this note finds you all well as we reach the midpoint of 2021. There probably is not any doubt that we have all been affected in some manner by the continued issues surrounding the effective worldwide shutdown from 2020. Industries that spent decades building the pipeline that supplies the world with products of all kinds, were shuttered and subsequently we are stuck working through the aftermath. Plenty of cargo ships but not enough containers... Plenty of manufacturing capability but not enough people to work it... Plenty of product available but not enough drivers to move it. It seems that at every turn there is a new obstacle in the way of our "normal" mode of doing things. Whenever I hear the phrase "our new normal" I think to myself that there truly is nothing normal about any of it! Through it all, our industry has kept plugging along. Some instances have been more challenging than others but with failure not being an option, we continued to support the irrigated agricultural market to the best of our ability. New roads were explored, new relationships were forged and we have emerged reinvigorated and equipped with even more ways to service our industry! At the end of the day, it might just come down to this fact: the grower is going to plant a crop. With very few exceptions this will be the rule. This makes it incumbent upon us as members of the Texas Agricultural Irrigators Association to continue our purpose of promoting quality standards in irrigation while working towards water conservation and improved profitability in irrigated agriculture. So, grab your boots and let's get to it!

Eddy Riggins

Other Positions for 2021

Educational Advisor

Dana Porter, Texas AgriLife Extension

Nominations Committee

Bobby De Leon, Craig Jones, Kenneth Ewings

Scholarship Committee

Mark McCormick, David Lott, Eddy Riggins

Audit Committee

Kenneth Ewings, Layne Hardesty