## Waupaca Chain O'Lakes District

PO Box 123, King WI 54946 wauacachainolakesdistrict.com

## **Annual Meeting Minutes**

9:00 AM, Saturday, August 14, 2021 Farmington Town Hall E913 Prairie View Lane, Waupaca

Welcome and Call to Order: The Lake District annual meeting was called to order at 9:04 am by Chairman Bob Ellis.

Present were District Board members Ken Denow, Bob Ellis, Paul Mazzoleni, Caroline Murphy, Jerry Murphy and Fred Silloway and Acting Secretary Kay Ellis. Excused was Cathy Raynor. District members present were: Jan Behnke, Robert Butrymowicz, Kathryn Castle, Aaron Cordy, Claire Cronce, Diane Forsythe, John Hebbring, Peggy Jesion, Lorraine Koeper, Tom Kurz, John Miller, William Morgan, Bridget O'Brien, Mary O'Connor, Robert O'Brien, Phil Peterson; Sharon Peterson, David Pogrant, Karen Kurz Riemer, Ann Silloway, Ben Slaski, Greg Slaski, Bob Schillerstrom, Peter Van Remortel and Brian Zalay.

The Open Meeting Statement was read by Ellis – This meeting and all meetings of the Chain O'Lakes District Board are open to the public. Proper notice has been posted and given to the press in accordance with Wisconsin Statutes so that citizens may be aware of the date, time, place and agenda of this meeting.

Review and Approve Agenda – It was moved by Jerry Murphy to approve the agenda, seconded by Caroline Murphy and approved unanimously.

Review and Approve 2020 Annual Meeting Minutes – It was moved by Ben Slaski to approve the minutes of the August 8, 2020 Annual Meeting minutes, seconded by Paul Mazzoleni and approved unanimously.

Election of Commissioners for a Three-Year Term – Ellis thanked John Hebbring and Bob Dixon for their many years of service on the Board. It was moved by John Hebbring and seconded by Ben Slaski to re-elect Ken Denow and Paul Mazzoleni to the Board for three-year terms. Denow and Mazzoleni each received 24 votes.

## P 2, LD 2021 Annual meeting minutes

Treasurer's Report/Budget Adoption/Audit Report – Ken Denow gave a detailed report on District finances and reviewed the line items in the 2021-2022 proposed budget summary, attached. He stated that ProcellaCor was a new herbicide treatment used this year. He reported that as of August 1, 2021 the District had a cash balance of \$84,289.92 and total revenue of \$117,899.04, which includes DNR Grants and Dayton and Farmington tax levies. Denow stated that 95% of funds are used for lake projects. Ellis read the District's 2021 audit report prepared by Jed DeYoung. John Hebbring moved to approve the 2020-2021 budget, seconded by Tom Kurz and approved unanimously.

AIS Update – Ellis stated that the District's consultant may determine areas of potential Chain treatment in the fall, but final treatment is determined each spring. The treatment applicator, hired by the District, performs the actual treatment. Treatment costs vary depending on the treatment types used each year. In June treatment was done in the following lakes: Otter, Nessling, Columbia, Long and Bass Lakes.

Management Plan Update – Ellis announced that the District's Comprehensive Management Plan draft is being reviewed by the District Board and will be sent to the DNR for final approval in the fall.

Clean Boats/Clean Waters Update – Ellis reported that the Taylor Lake Boat Landing Inspector this year is Parker Prahl. Prahl was also an inspector last year. Ellis said he subbed for Parker one weekend in July and the boat landing was very busy.

Public Input – There were discussions about the following topics: boat traffic, wake boats, Clean Boats/Clean Waters, natural shorelines, invasive plant species, mechanical weed harvesting, zebra mussels, and lake ordinances. Ellis stated that the DNR said it would not recommend mechanical harvesting for the Chain. A motion was made by Tom Kurz and seconded by Bridget O'Brien to have the Lake District inquire as to its legal ability to determine ordinances. The motion was unanimously approved.

Next Annual Meeting Date – The next District annual meeting will be held on Saturday, August 13, 2022

Approved: 8-13-2022

Adjournment – The meeting was adjourned by Chairman Ellis at 10:24 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kay Ellis
Acting Secretary