

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Derek Antoine, Executive Director dantoine@knoxhousing.org Knox County Housing Authority 216 W. Simmons St. Galesburg, IL 61401 (309) 342-8129 ext. 223

KNOX COUNTY HOUSING AUTHORITY WELCOMES NEW BOARD COMMISSIONERS

Galesburg, IL 10/30/2019 – The Knox County Housing Authority is pleased to announce the appointments of Sara Robison and Joseph Riley to serve on its Board of Commissioners. Ms. Robison was appointed at the 08/28/2019, and Mr. Riley at the 09/25/2019, regular meetings of the Knox County Board.

Ms. Robison has worked for the past 8 years for CASA (Court Appointed Service Advocate), most recently serving as its Executive Director. In this capacity, she works directly with disadvantaged families to make certain they receive fair and equitable treatment when dealing with courts and legal processes. Ms. Robison is also an active member of the community, currently serving and having previously served on various boards and councils as well as membership within several associations. Ms. Robison's service has been recognized, having received awards from many local organizations.

Mr. Riley has worked for the past several years in the banking industry, most recently serving as Vice President with Community State Bank. In this capacity, he works directly with customers from a wide range of industries on all matters pertaining to money management and growth. Mr. Riley possesses a solid financial acumen, which would be of great benefit to the KCHA Board of Commissioners and its stakeholders. Mr. Riley is also an active member of the community, having previously served on various boards and councils as well as membership within several associations. Mr. Riley's service has been recognized by many local organizations.

"Having served previously in various capacities with both individuals, I am pleased at their appointments," stated KCHA Executive Director Derek Antoine. "Both are engaged members of this community, and bring unique perspectives to their service on this Board. Sara's experience with disadvantaged families and Joseph's financial insight will serve this Board and our resident population well. I look forward with great anticipation to the work we will accomplish together."

The KCHA Board is comprised of seven (7) Commissioners who are committed to improving the quality of life in and around the low-income community. All Commissioners must be residents of the Knox County at the time of their appointment and must continue to maintain such residence throughout the term of their office.

All seven (7) Commissioners are appointed by the Knox County Board Chair, and confirmed by a majority vote of the Knox County Board. One Commissioner is required by the Quality Housing and Work



Responsibility Act of 1998 to be directly assisted by the Knox County Housing Authority. KCHA Commissioners serve terms of five (5) years. Service on the KCHA Board of Commissioners is voluntary and unpaid.

Current Board Commissioners include Lomac Payton (Chairperson), Jared Hawkinson (Vice-Chairperson), Wayne Allen, Paul H. Stewart, and Paula Sanford (Resident Commissioner.)

The Knox County Housing Authority is a dynamic force in our community, providing high-quality affordable housing opportunities for individuals and families, while promoting self-sufficiency, empowerment, and a sense of community development. The KCHA is responsible for housing over 750 families in public housing units (located throughout five (5) developments), via the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Program, and the Affordable Housing Program (AHP) which includes Brentwood Manor and Prairieland Townhouse Apartments.

For further information, please contact KCHA Executive Director Derek Antoine.