(Prepared by/Return to: Amy Kahler, Des Moines Water Works, 2201 George Flagg Pkwy., Des Moines, IA 50321, 515-283-8760)

Meeting CENTRAL IOWA REGIONAL DRINKING WATER COMMISSION Johnston City Hall 6221 Merle Hay Road January 24, 2017 6:00 p.m.

<u>Chair Items</u> – Commission Chair, David Lindeman, called the meeting of the Central Iowa Regional Drinking Water Commission to order at 6:02 p.m., and recognized a quorum of Representatives in attendance. Present were:

City of Altoona – Vern Willey (Rep.), Jim Utter (Ex-O), Karen Oppelt (Alt. Ex-O),

City of Ankeny – Jim McKenna (Rep.), Don Clark (Ex-O)

City of Bondurant - None

City of Carlisle - None

City of Clive – Jeff May (Ex-O)

City of Cumming – Charlie Ochanpaugh (Rep.)

City of Johnston – David Lindeman (Rep.), Shane Kinsey (Ex-O)

City of Mitchellville - None

City of New Virginia - None

City of Norwalk – Tim Hoskins (Rep.)

City of Pleasant Hill - Len Murray (Rep.)

City of Polk City - None

City of St. Charles - None

City of Waukee – John Gibson (Ex-O)

City of Windsor Heights - None

Des Moines Water Works – Dave Carlson (Alt. Rep.), Ted Corrigan (Staff), Amy Kahler (Staff), Laura Sarcone (Staff)

Indianola Municipal Utilities - None

Polk County - E.J. Giovannetti (Rep.)

Urbandale Water Utility – Phil Noah (Alt. Rep), Gail Palmer (Alt. Ex-O)

Warren Water District – Merrill Heemstra (Rep.), Steve Steenhoek (Alt. Rep.), Stan Ripperger (Ex-O)

West Des Moines Water Works – Diana Wilson (Ex-O)

Xenia Rural Water District – Dan Lovett (Rep.)

Also present were Don McDowell from Iowa Farm Bureau Federation and Adam Schnieders from Iowa Department of Natural Resources.

<u>Approval of Minutes</u> – A motion was made by Len Murray, seconded by Merrill Heemstra for approval of the minutes of the following meetings: CIRDWC October 25, 2016; Executive Committee November 29, 2016; Technical Advisory Committee December 15, 2016. Motion passed.

<u>Financial Statements</u> – Amy Kahler noted the ending balance for second quarter 2016-2017 is \$63,842.95. Motion was made by Len Murray and seconded by Jim McKenna to approve the first quarter 2016-2017 financial statements. Motion passed.

<u>Stream Nutrient Monitoring</u> – Adam Schnieders, Water Quality Coordinator for the Iowa Department of Natural Resources, shared a collaborative report between IDNR, ISU, IDALS, and IIHR that focuses on findings related to stream nutrient monitoring in Iowa. The report discusses challenges and opportunities when using stream monitoring to help measure Iowa's progress towards nutrient reduction.

<u>Technical Advisory Subcommittee Update</u> – Ted Corrigan provided an update on the progress of the Long Range Plan for the core network. The consultant has completed the assessment of the need and provided three proposals in meeting the region's projected demand through 2035. The plan will include expansion of the McMullen plant, three additional Aquifer Storage and Recovery wells, and expansion of the Saylorville plant to meet demand for the first 15 years, then additional options phased in through 2040. The final draft was scheduled for completion by the end of January 2017 but it is unlikely it will be completed by then. DMWW staff will provide an update on the status when available.

<u>Urbandale Water Treatment Plant Update</u> – Gail Palmer reported that Urbandale Water Utility is still in discussion with DMWW about how the planned Urbandale plant could fit with DMWW's Core Network.

<u>WDMWW/Waukee Source Water Availability Study Update</u> – Diana Wilson reported that the engineering consulting firm has completed the first phase of the study. They have identified 5-7 spots for test wells and expect the study to be completed by first quarter 2017.

<u>Legislative/Water Quality Update</u> – Amy Kahler provided an update prepared by Jennifer Terry. It has been a slow start to the legislative session with no talk on water quality.

<u>Election of 2017 Officers</u> – Vern Willey of the nominating committee presented the recommendation for Chair Jim McKenna, Vice Chair Karen Novak-Swalwell and Secretary/Treasurer Vern Willey. Chair David Lindeman asked for nominations from the floor, receiving none. Vern Willey made a motion to approve the aforementioned slate of officers, seconded by Tim Hoskins. Motion passed. Vern Willey thanked Chair David Lindeman for his service. David Lindeman said he has appreciated his time to serve as chair.

Executive Committee Report — Vern Willey made a motion and seconded by Len Murray to approve the Executive Committee Report. Motion passed. Amy Kahler demonstrated the new website www.cirdwc.com. The site will host announcements, agendas, minutes, meeting materials, contact information. A suggestion was made to add and maintain the most recent financial statement, and presentation/information provided by recent speakers. David Lindeman discussed the speakers bureau. He and E.J. Giovannetti attended a recent metro mayor's group to discuss CIRDWC's membership, purpose and regionalization study. E.J. Giovannetti requested that Amy Kahler send a copy of the presentation to the group.

General Discussion – The next CIRDWC meeting is April 25, 2017, in Ankeny.

Adjournment – Meeting adjourned by unanimous consent at 7:19 p.m.