M-PBEA Representative Report and Membership Report--District Representatives Report/Updates

Submitted by: Deb Wolken, April 28, 2018

M-PBEA Report

The MPBEA Board met at the National Business Education Association Conference in Baltimore, Maryland, on Wednesday, March 28, 2018. Nebraska members attending the meeting: DeLayne Havlovic, NBEA Director; Jodi Dierks, Treasurer; Jean Condon, Secretary and Publication Chair; Matt Maw, Newsletter Editor, and Deb Wolken, Nebraska Membership Director.

M-PBEA membership goal is 1,067 members.

At the end of February 2018, the M-PBEA region had 662 professional members, 20 student members, and 19 retired members. These numbers reflect a decrease of 2 professional members and an increase of 7 student members since the end of January.

Nebraska's NBEA membership goal is 180 members. As of the end of February, 2018, Nebraska had reached 95% of its goal.

State membership directors include—Caroline Swank, Colorado; Lori Henneberg, Kansas; Deb Wolken, Nebraska; Laura de la Cruz, New Mexico; Vickie Volk, North Dakota; Oklahoma, vacant; South Dakota, vacant; Violet Snell, Texas; and Kara Hill, Wyoming.

MPBEA Executive Officers 2017-18

President	Carol Sessums	Colorado
President-Elect	Sherrell Wheeler	New Mexico
Treasurer	Jodi Dierks	Nebraska
Executive Secretary	Jean Condon	Nebraska
Past President	Lori Hauf	North Dakota
Membership Director	Christine French	Wyoming
Representative to NBEA Board	DeLayne Havlovic	Nebraska

2018 M-PBEA CONFERENCE--Omaha, Nebraska, June 10-13, 2018. The conference will be held at the University of Nebraska at Omaha, Mammel Business Building. DeLayne Havlovic will serve as Conference Chair, Kris Gaebel as Conference Treasurer, and Shelly Mowinkel as Program Chair. Hotel rooms will be available at the Courtyard Marriott-Aksarben Village, across the street from the Mammel Business Building.

2019—More details will be finalized at the June board meeting but Colorado appears to be the 2019 MPBEA Conference host state.

FUTURE NBEA CONVENTION SITES AND DATES		
April 16-20, 2019	Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile	
April 7-11, 2020	Boston Marriott Copley Place	
March 30-April 3, 2021	New Orleans Marriott	
April 12-16, 2022	Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile	

MPBEA Election Candidates:

- Jean Condon (Nebraska), Candidate for M-PBEA President-Elect
- Christine French (Wyoming), Candidate for M-PBEA Membership Representative
- Lori Henneberg (Kansas), Candidate for M-BPBEA Secretary

MPBEA Notes & Quotes:

 Wrote newsletter article for Spring Note & Quotes Newsletter highlighting Nebraska's scholarships and stipends we have available for members

Membership Recruiting Activities

- ✓ Continue to contact all lapsed members each month from the list that Chris French sends; monthly reports are sent to Chris and NBEA Representatives
- ✓ Updated membership form (print and fillable); Dawn has links on NSBEA web site
 - o New form reflects the NBEA \$10 increase in dues from \$90 to \$100

✓ Annual NCE Conference

- Plans are being made to go from paper membership forms to having members register with Google Forms
- o Laptops/IPads will be available for member registration at the NCE table
- ✓ Prepared a membership list for our state NSBEA newsletter published in the Spring 2018 newsletter.
- ✓ Processed membership dues July, 2017 through current; Jean updated membership through June, 2017.
- ✓ Updated database whenever I receive notice of an online payment.
- ✓ Attended the NBEA membership webinar meeting on January 29, 2018.
- ✓ Attended the NBEA Membership meeting at the NBEA Conference, March 30, 2018
- ✓ Continuing recruiting efforts and trying to find new and innovative ways to recruit new members.
- ✓ Attended the MPBEA Executive Board meeting March 28 at the NBEA Conference, Baltimore, MD.

Other Activities

- ✓ Communication with members applying for NBEA stipends
- ✓ Set up NSBEA Table at the NETA Conference in Omaha, April 19-20, 2018
 - o Members helping at the table: Jean Condon, Jan Osborn, Colleen Childers
- ✓ Provided Power Point Slide for NETA Conference (displayed at the NETA Opening session each day)
 - o Member creating slide: Jocelyn Crabtree

Deb Wolken, Nebraska Membership Director

District Representatives:
Capital—Jessica Thompson and Leah Pankoke
Elkhorn—Kari Tunink and Laura Parks
Metro—Jodi Dierks and Amy Wagner
Panhandle—Melissa Lein
Post-Secondary—Lorrie Mowry
Sandhills—Juli Murphy
Tri-Valley—Cathy Nutt