

PLAT MAP EXCERPT USED BY PERMISSION OF ROCKFORD MAP PUBLISHERS

To: Dane County Towns

Date: April 16, 2015

Re: Election of Dane County Towns Association 2015-17 Board of Directors

May 20, 2015 at 7:00 p.m.

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, pursuant to Article IV of the By-Laws of the DCTA, that the Association shall hold its biennial election of Directors on **Wednesday**, **May 20, 2015 at 7:00 p.m.** at the Town Hall of the Town of Middleton, 7555 Old Sauk Road, Town of Middleton.

THE DCTA BOARD AND DISTRICTS

The DCTA Board of Directors consists of seven (7) members. Any elected Town Chairperson, Supervisor, Clerk or Treasurer is eligible to seek election to the Board. An appointed Town Administrator, Clerk or Treasurer may seek election with approval of the Town Board by whom they were appointed.

The Board is elected from seven (7) Districts. The incumbent Director and their town is listed.

- District 1 Bristol, Burke, Sun Prairie, Windsor and York. [Jerry Derr, Bristol].
- District 2 Blooming Grove, Cottage Grove, Deerfield, Dunn and Medina [Steve Schultz, Medina]
- District 3 Albion, Christiana, Dunkirk, Pleasant Springs, and Rutland [Ted Olson, Dunkirk]
- District 4 Blue Mounds, Montrose, Oregon, Petty and Primrose [Mick Klein Kennedy, Perry].
- District 5 Madison, Middleton, Springdale, Verona [Tim Roehl, Verona].
- District 6 Berry, Black Earth, Cross Plains, Springfield and Vermont [Jim Pulvermacher, Springfield]
- District 7 Dane, Mazomanie, Roxbury, Vienna, Westport. [Robert Lee, Dane].

The Director position for District 7 is open because Mr. Lee was not reelected to the Town of Dane Board. In other Districts, it is up to the individual directors to communicate their interest in seeking re-election to their Districts.

BOARD MEMBER DUTIES

The Board meets monthly and as needed. Meetings are scheduled to meet the calendars of the Board. They have been held on the third Wednesday of the month at 7 p.m. Board members establish policy of the DCTA on pending issues; set the budget of the Association; represent the Association on important issues, and oversee the Association's consultants.

Board members are expected to attend Board meetings and to contribute expertise and interest in various areas of town government. It is highly desirable that Board members be willing to attend meetings of state and county committees or agencies on behalf of the Association.

Board members receive an honorarium of \$50 per meeting, including Board meetings and meetings of other bodies as Association representatives.

VOTING

The Towns included in each district caucus to elect a director. Each town has one vote. If there is a difference of opinion among the Town supervisors present, the Town's vote is cast according to the majority of Town Board members from a town present and voting.

OFFICERS

The DCTA has a President and a Vice President. Those officers are elected by the Board of Directors from within the Board membership. They will be elected at the Annual Meeting after the Board of Directors is elected.

This memo was drafted by DCTA Legal Counsel.