
Good morning! Hope you had a great game last evening! 
 
Intentional fouls….here is the definition: 
 

 
 
Article a verifies that ‘contact that neutralizes and opponent’s obvious advantageous position’ is an 
intentional foul. I would think that all of us agree with that statement. 
 
With this in mind, take a look at a play ruled intentional here. Do you have intentional? I bet a huge 
majority of us do have an intentional foul for sure when we saw the slo-mo replay, right? Think about 
this……our mind let’s us slow down plays in our head in a split second that tells us to put air in the 
whistle, and in cases like this, to have an intentional foul. I think this was a GREAT call. The L was very 
confident in his call and showed that in his preliminary. He did a great job ‘selling’ this call. 
 
In this play, white 0 is making a move to the hoop on a transition and blue 4 grabs his arm ‘that 
neutralizes and obvious advantageous position.’ Grabbing the ball handler’s arm and not letting go 
certainly appears intentional in this play! 
 
Sometimes calls need ‘selling’ and sometimes they don’t. I think this was an obvious intentional foul, 
especially from the angle L had, and he did not hesitate to come out with that signal.  
 
Be confident in what you SEE, be confident in what you CALL and be confident in your MECHANICS……. If 
you are not SURE what you see, this leads to weak calls and weak mechanics. If you are not SURE what 
you see, then the play is most likely ‘safe’. In other words, if the L in this play was not SURE he saw an 
intentional, he should not call an intentional. If a partner DID SEE something intentional, he/she should 
come to the L and talk about it and upgrade to intentional if necessary. 
 
Be CONFIDENT in what you SEE, this leads to confident play calling…..and being able to explain to 
coaches what was seen. 
 
Have a great game this evening! 
 
Tim 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1JOwmsVhr-V6tUJoIUTXrsjXBguGcQGwF/view?usp=sharing

