RHODE ISLAND

When Rhode Island entered the Union in 1790, being the last of the original thirteen colonies, its federal judiciary was established consistent with the Judiciary Act of 1789. It remains a single-district state, lodged in the First Circuit. Rhode Island has three district judgeships.

Statutory History				
Seat	Legislation	Authority		
RI.ST.01	Act of June 23, 1790	1 Stat. 128		
RI.ST.02	Act of March 18, 1966	80 Stat. 75		
RI.ST.03	Act of July 10, 1984	98 Stat. 333		

Seat Histories					
Position #	Name	Date of Confirmation	Date of Departure	Reason	Party
RI.ST.01.01	Marchant, Henry	July 3, 1790	August 30, 1796	Deceased	Federalist
RI.ST.01.02	Bourne, Benjamin	December 22, 1796 ²	February 20, 1801	Elevated to First Circuit	Federalist
RI.ST.01.03	Barnes, David Leonard	January 26, 1802 ³	November 3, 1812	Deceased	Democrat- Republican
RI.ST.01.04	Howell, David	November 16, 1812	July 29, 1824	Deceased	Jeffersonian Democrat
RI.ST.01.05	Pitman, John	January 3, 1825 ⁴	November 17, 1864	Deceased	Jeffersonian Democrat

¹Act of June 23, 1790, 1 STAT. 128.

²Recess appointment, October 13, 1796.

³Recess appointment, April 30, 1801.

⁴Recess appointment, August 4, 1824.

RI.ST.01.06	Bullock, Jonathon Russell	February 11, 1865	September 15, 1869	Resigned	Democrat
RI.ST.01.07	Knowles, John Power	January 24, 1870 ⁵	March 21, 1881	Retired	Republican
RI.ST.01.08	Colt, LeBaron Bradford	March 21, 1881	July 5, 1884	Elevated to First Circuit	Republican
RI.ST.01.09	Carpenter, George Moulton	December 18, 1884	July 31, 1896	Deceased	Republican
RI.ST.01.10	Brown, Arthur Lewis	December 15, 1896 ⁶	June 30, 1927	Resigned	Democrat
RI.ST.01.11	Letts, Ira Lloyd	January 4, 1928 ⁷	February 15, 1935	Resigned	Republican
RI.ST.01.12	Mahoney, John Christopher	June 4, 1935	February 12, 1940	Elevated to First Circuit	Democrat
RI.ST.01.13	Hartigan, John Patrick	February 1, 1940	January 3, 1951	Elevated to First Circuit	Democrat
RI.ST.01.14	Leahy, Edward L.	January 2, 1951	July 22, 1953	Deceased	Democrat
RI.ST.01.15	Day, Edward William	February 9, 1954 ⁸	March 19, 1976	Retired	Republican
RI.ST.01.16	Boyle, Francis J.	June 30, 1977	December 1, 1992	Retired	Democrat
RI.ST.01.17	Lisi, Mary Mona ⁹	May 6, 1994	Active	Active	Independent
RI.ST.02.01	Pettine, Raymond J.	June 29, 1966	July 6, 1982	Retired	Democrat

⁵Recess appointment, October 9, 1869.

⁶Recess appointment, October 15, 1896.

⁷Recess appointment, June 9, 1927.

⁸Recess appointment, November 10, 1953.

⁹First female district judge appointed from Rhode Island.

RI.ST.02.02	Selya, Bruce Marshall	August 18, 1982	October 14, 1986	Elevated to First Circuit	Republican
RI.ST.02.03	Torres, Ernest C. ¹⁰	November 5, 1987	December 1, 2006	Retired	Republican
RI.ST.02.04	Vacant				
RI.ST.03.01	Lagueux, Ronald Rene	March 3, 1986	November 30, 2001	Retired	Republican
RI.ST.03.02	Smith, William E.	November 14, 2002	Active	Active	Republican

¹⁰First Hispanic district judge appointed from Rhode Island.