SOUTH CAROLINA

The District Court of South Carolina has a bizarre history. The eighth of the original thirteen colonies, the state was organized as a single-district by the Judiciary Act of 1789. It was divided in 1823 into Eastern and Western Districts. However, in 1897 the U.S. Supreme Court ruled that the districts were not separate in a jurisdictional sense, and so South Carolina reverted to a single-district state. Congress nevertheless authorized separate Eastern and Western Districts in 1911, only to reorganize the state as a single-district in 1965.

SC.ST.01 was assigned to the Eastern and Western Districts from March 3, 1911 to March 3, 1915, when it was designated for the Eastern District only, where it remained until the court was reorganized as a single-district in 1965. The following districts also were transferred in 1965: SC.ST.02, assigned to the Western District on March 19, 1915; SC.ST.03, designated for the Eastern and Western Districts on April 29, 1929; SC.ST.04, assigned to the Eastern and Western Districts.

South Carolina resides in the Fourth Circuit and has ten district judgeships.

Statutory History					
Seat	Legislation	Authority			
SC.ST.01	Act of September 24, 1789	1 Stat. 73			
SC.ST.02	Act of March 3, 1915	38 Stat. 961			
SC.ST.03	Act of February 26, 1929	45 Stat. 1319			
SC.ST.04	Act of May 19, 1961	75 Stat. 80			
SC.ST.05	Act of June 2, 1970	84 Stat. 294			
SC.ST.06	Act of October 20, 1978	92 Stat. 1629			

¹Act of September 24, 1789, 1 STAT. 73.

²Act of February 21, 1823, 3 STAT. 726. One judge (Thomas Fee) presided over both districts.

³Barrett v. United States, 169 U.S. 218 (1897).

⁴Act of March 3, 1911, 36 STAT. 1123. One judge (Henry Smith) served both districts.

⁵Act of October 7, 1965, 79 STAT. 951. For historical detail see, Historical Sketch of the United States District Court for the District of South Carolina. Mimeo copy prepared and made available by the Office of the Clerk.

SC.ST.07	Act of October 20, 1978	92 Stat. 1629
SC.ST.08	Act of October 20, 1978	92 Stat. 1629
SC.ST.09	Act of December 1, 1990	104 Stat. 5089
SC.ST.10	Act of December 15, 2000	114 Stat. 2762

Seat Histories						
Position #	Name	Date of Confirmation	Date of Departure	Reason	Party	
SC.ST.01.01	Drayton, William	February 10, 1790 ⁶	May 18, 1790	Deceased	Federalist	
SC.ST.01.02	Bee, Thomas	June 14, 1790	February 18, 1812	Deceased	Federalist	
SC.ST.01.03	Drayton, John	May 7, 1812	November 27, 1822	Deceased	Jeffersonian Democrat	
SC.ST.01.04	Lee, Thomas	February 17, 1823	October 24, 1839	Deceased	Jeffersonian Democrat	
SC.ST.01.05	Gilchrist, Robert Budd	February 17, 1840 ⁷	May 1, 1856	Deceased	Democrat	
SC.ST.01.06	Magrath, Andrew Gordon	May 12, 1856	November 7, 1860	Resigned	Democrat	
SC.ST.01.07	Bryan, George Seabrook	March 12, 1866	September 5, 1886	Retired	Whig	
SC.ST.01.08	Simonton, Charles Henry	January 13, 1887 ⁸	December 19, 1893	Elevated to Fourth Circuit	Democrat	
SC.ST.01.09	Brawley, William Hiram	January 18, 1894	June 14, 1911	Retired	Democrat	

⁶Recess appointment, November 18, 1789.

⁷Recess appointment, October 30, 1839.

⁸Recess appointment, September 3, 1886.

SC.ST.01.10	Smith, Henry Augustus Middleton	June 7, 1911	November 24, 1923	Retired	Democrat
SC.ST.01.11	Cochran, Ernest Ford	January 17, 1924 ⁹	March 4, 1934	Deceased	Republican
SC.ST.01.12	Myers, Francis Kerschner	June 9, 1934	August 2, 1940	Deceased	Democrat
SC.ST.01.13	Waring, Julius Waties	January 20, 1942	February 15, 1952	Retired	Democrat
SC.ST.01.14	Williams, Ashton Hilliard	July 2, 1952	February 25, 1962	Deceased	Democrat
SC.ST.01.15	Simons, Charles E., Jr.	April 30, 1964	August 17, 1986	Retired	Democrat
SC.ST.01.16	Anderson, Joseph F., Jr.	October 8, 1986	Active	Active	Democrat
SC.ST.02.01	Johnson, Joseph Travis	January 24, 1916 ¹⁰	May 8, 1919	Deceased	Democrat
SC.ST.02.02	Watkins, Henry Hitt	July 22, 1919	December 31, 1936	Retired	Democrat
SC.ST.02.03	Wyche, Charles Cecil	January 22, 1937	September 17, 1966	Deceased	Democrat
SC.ST.02.04	Russell, Donald Stuart	October 20, 1966	April 23, 1971	Elevated to Fourth Circuit	Democrat
SC.ST.02.05	Blatt, Solomon, Jr.	May 26, 1971	May 7, 1990	Retired	Democrat
SC.ST.02.06	Norton, David C.	June 28, 1990	Active	Active	Republican
SC.ST.03.01	Glenn, John Lyles, Jr.	April 29, 1929	May 2, 1938	Deceased	Democrat
SC.ST.03.02	Lumpkin, Alva Moore	May 22, 1939	July 21, 1941	Resigned	Democrat

⁹Recess appointment, November 22, 1923.

¹⁰Recess appointment, March 9, 1915.

SC.ST.03.03	Timmerman, George Bell	January 20, 1942	October 10, 1962	Retired	Democrat
SC.ST.03.04	Hemphill, Robert W.	April 30, 1964	May 10, 1980	Retired	Democrat
SC.ST.03.05	Wilkins, William W., Jr.	July 20, 1981	June 16, 1986	Elevated to Fourth Circuit	Republican
SC.ST.03.06	Henderson, Karen LeCraft ¹¹	June 13, 1986	July 5, 1990	Elevated to D.C. Circuit	Republican
SC.ST.03.07	Shedd, Dennis W.	October 27, 1990	November 19, 2002	Elevated to Fourth Circuit	Republican
SC.ST.03.08	Floyd, Henry Franklin	September 22, 2003	Active	Active	Democrat
SC.ST.04.01	Martin, James Robert, Jr.	September 8, 1961	November 30, 1979	Retired	Democrat
SC.ST.04.02	Anderson, George Ross, Jr.	May 21, 1980	Active	Active	Democrat
SC.ST.05.01	Chapman, Robert F.	May 26, 1971	September 19, 1981	Elevated to Fourth Circuit	Republican
SC.ST.05.02	Hamilton, Clyde H.	November 24, 1981	July 18, 1991	Elevated to Fourth Circuit	Republican
SC.ST.05.03	Traxler, William Byrd, Jr.	February 27, 1992	October 21, 1998	Elevated to Fourth Circuit	Republican
SC.ST.05.04	Seymour, Margaret B.	October 21, 1998	Active	Active	Democrat
SC.ST.06.01	Hawkins, Falcon B., Jr.	September 25, 1979	October 1, 1993	Retired	Democrat
SC.ST.06.02	Currie, Cameron McGowan	March 10, 1994	Active	Active	Democrat

¹¹First female district judge appointed from South Carolina.

SC.ST.07.01	Houck, Charles Weston	September 25, 1979	October 1, 2003	Retired	Democrat
SC.ST.07.02	Harwell, Robert Bryan	June 24, 2004	Active	Active	Republican
SC.ST.08.01	Perry, Matthew J., Jr. ¹²	September 19, 1979	October 1, 1995	Retired	Democrat
SC.ST.08.02	Duffy, Patrick Michael	December 22, 1995	Active	Active	Independent
SC.ST.09.01	Herlong, Henry M., Jr.	May 9, 1991	Active	Active	Republican
SC.ST.10.01	Wooten, Terry L.	November 8, 2001	Active	Active	Republican

¹²First African American appointed from South Carolina.