## INDIAN LAKE OHIO VILLAGE OF RUSSELLS POINT SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING

## MINUTES March 31, 2014

Mayor Reames called the Meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

- Purpose: To accept nominations and possible appointment to fill a council seat left vacant by the passing of Ms. Janice Moore with a term ending December 31, 2015.
- Roll Call: Ms. Kelly Huffman, present; Mr. John Huffman, present; Mr. Tom LaDow, present; Ms. Joan Maxwell, present; President Pro-tem, Mr. Steve Reid, present.
- Recorder: Fiscal Officer Jeff Weidner
- Guests: Ms. Pat Cochenour, 347 Westview, Russells Point Ms. Sharon DeVault, 209 E. Elliot, Russells Point Ms. Judy Eubanks, 121 Aiken St., Russells Point Mr. Tom Grundish, 216 Wilgus Dr., Russells Point Mr. Greg Iiams, 211 Clermont, Russells Point Ms. Melissa Miller, 7102 Hardin Dr., Russells Point Ms. Pam Rogers, 7127 Clark Dr., Russells Point Ms. Libby Stidam, 413 Fairview Ave., Russells Point Mr. David Wallace, 251 Chase, Russells Point
- A. Open Council Seat

*Ms. Joan Maxwell made motion to open the nominations for the vacant council seat. Ms. Kelly Huffman seconded the motion.* 

The Vote: Ms. Kelly Huffman, yea; Mr. John Huffman, yea; Mr. Tom LaDow, yea; Ms. Joan Maxwell, yea; Mr. Steve Reid, yea. The motion passed: 5 yeas – 0 nays.

Four residents; Mr. Greg Iiams, Mr. Tom Grundish, Ms. Libby Stidam, and Ms. Judy Eubanks showed interest in the vacant council seat. Each of the parties was given the opportunity to speak as to why they wished to be considered.

*Mr. John Huffman made a motion to close the nominations. Mr. Tom LaDow seconded the motion. Prior to a vote Mr. Huffman wished to withdraw his motion and Mr. LaDow withdrew his second.* 

*Mr.* Steve Reid moved to go into executive session at 7:13 p.m. to consider the appointment of the nominees. *Mr.* Tom LaDow seconded the motion.

The Vote: Ms. Kelly Huffman, yea; Mr. John Huffman, yea; Mr. Tom LaDow, yea; Ms. Joan Maxwell, yea; Mr. Steve Reid, yea. The motion passed: 5 yeas – 0 nays.

*Mr.* Steve Reid moved to go out of executive session at 7:29 p.m. *Ms.* Kelly Huffman seconded the motion.

The Vote: Ms. Kelly Huffman, yea; Mr. John Huffman, yea; Mr. Tom LaDow, yea; Ms. Joan Maxwell, yea; Mr. Steve Reid, yea. The motion passed: 5 yeas – 0 nays.

 Mr. Steve Reid moved to close the nominations. Mr. John Huffman seconded the motion. The Vote: Ms. Kelly Huffman, yea; Mr. John Huffman, yea; Mr. Tom LaDow, yea; Ms. Joan Maxwell, yea; Mr. Steve Reid, yea. The motion passed: 5 yeas – 0 nays.

## Special Council Minutes, March 31, 2014

*Mr.* Tom LaDow moved to nominate all four interested parties. *Ms.* Kelly Huffman seconded the motion.

The Vote: Ms. Kelly Huffman, yea; Mr. John Huffman, yea; Mr. Tom LaDow, yea; Ms. Joan Maxwell, yea; Mr. Steve Reid, yea. The motion passed: 5 yeas – 0 nays.

Ballots were given to the five council members to vote for their choice of the four nominees. The ballots were collected and tallied by Fiscal Officer, Jeff Weidner. The votes were recorded as follows:

Mr. Greg Iiams - 0 votes; Mr. Tom Grundish – 0 votes; Ms. Libby Stidam – 1 vote; Ms. Judy Eubanks – 4 votes.

Ms. Eubanks will take the oath of office at the next regular council meeting scheduled April 7, 2014.

Mr. Tom LaDow moved to adjourn the Meeting. Mr. John Huffman seconded the motion.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:46 p.m.

Next Ordinance: 14-1106 Next Resolution: 14-797

Scheduled Meetings:

## A. Council Meeting: Monday, April 7, 2014 at 7:00 p.m.

- B. Board of Public Affairs Meeting: Monday, March 24, 2014 at 5:30 p.m.
- C. Lands & Buildings: Wednesday, April 2, 2014 at 6:30 p.m.

Fiscal Officer Jeff Weidner

Mayor Robin Reames

Date Passed