

2024 SOUTHWESTERN ASSOCIATION AWARDS



DEADLINE FOR SUBMISSIONS: April 1ST, 2024

DEADLINE for award nominee submissions: <u>ALL</u> entries must be postmarked by **April 1, 2024** <u>or</u> in the hands of a Southwestern Firefighter of the Year committee member by that date.

Awards shall be presented at the Annual Convention in West Valley, NY on

Saturday, August 3, 2024

The Southwestern Association invites you to submit nominees for the following awards:

FIREFIGHTER OF THE YEAR (incident specific); EMS PROVIDER OF THE YEAR (incident specific)

OUTSTANDING SERVICE AWARDS (1-10. 11-20, 21-30, 31-40, 40-49, 50+); JUNIOR FIREFIGHTER/EXPLORER OF THE YEAR (Tenure)

*Note: The following rules will be strictly adhered to for <u>ALL</u> nominations and failure to follow will result in the nominee being disqualified:

- 1.) All nomination letters must be submitted on Fire Company/Department stationery if available. Dates of service must be included for Service Awards category.
- 2.) The nomination letter must include a resolution and the Fire Company/Dept. meeting date, when it was approved.
- 3.) All letters must be signed by both, the Secretary and the President or Chief Officer.
- 4.) Fire Company/Department must be a member of the Association and their dues must be current.
- 5.) ALL NOMINIEES MUST BE ELIGIBLE FOR THEIR PARTICULAR AWARD DURING THE ELIGABILTY PERIOD: JANUARY 1, 2023 TO DECEMBER 31, 2023.

"FIREFIGHTER OF THE YEAR AWARD" & "EMS PROVIDER OF THE YEAR AWARD"

There are various types of outstanding activities for which any Volunteer Firefighter or Volunteer Emergency provider can be considered for these awards BUT ALL MUST BE INCIDENT SPECIFIC.

It could be in any of the following ways:

- 1.) Saving a life, while answering a fire or EMS call.
- 2.) Saving a life, at any time not in conjunction with answering a fire or EMS call.
- 3.) Aiding another firefighter/EMS provider while they are performing their duties.
- 4.) Note-More than one name may be submitted in a single nomination letter, if for the same emergency. Primary nominee(s) must be member(s) of your fire company.

"OUTSTANDING SERVICE AWARD"

Any Volunteer Firefighter who has promoted or has rendered a great deal of assistance to the Volunteer Fire Service in any of the ways listed below. Awards are generally categorized as: 1 – 10 years, 11 – 20 years, 21 – 30 years, 31 – 40 years, 41 – 49 years and 50 plus years but a Service award for Outstanding Service may be awarded to any Non Firefighter or Organization at the discretion of the Committee .This award is for a body of work but nominees must be eligible for their particular award during the period of eligibility. *Note- Each Individual nominated must be submitted in a separate letter, not a combined letter nominating several individuals for several awards (The letters can be in the same envelope).

- 1.) Legislative activity.
- 2.) Public relations between their Fire Company/Department and the community.
- 3.) Outstanding service as a member of a Volunteer Fire Company.
- 4.) Outstanding service in the area of Fire Prevention.
- 5.) NOTE: If a nominee wins in a category, they can not be resubmitted in that category. (Service Awards only)

"JUNIOR FIREFIGHTER OR EXPLORER OF THE YEAR AWARD"

Nominate a Junior Firefighter or Explorer who has gone above and beyond in their duties.

*Note: Contact the General Chairman, Co-Chairman, County Vice-Chairman or any Committee Member to seek assistance with preparing your information.

2024 FIREFIGHTER OF THE YEAR COMMITTEE CONTACTS

GENERAL CHAIRMAN: Kevin Smith. (716)352-4376

4591 Southwestern Blvd, Bldg U- Apt.3 Hamburg, NY 14075 kevinsmith1228.ks@gmail.com

LIASON: Bill Kozak Jr. (716)353-0486 Bkozakjr3@gmail.com

FIRE POLICE CHAIRMAN: Doug Wood

(716)640-0206

SCHOLARSHIP CHAIRPERSON: Kim Heath

(716)864-4547

kheath4278@gmail.com

ALLEGANY COUNTY

Dave Parker (716)370-1110

CATTARAUGUS COUNTY

Barb Parish (716)560-7304 Brpar@hotmail.com Dorothy Button (716)942-3270 jackbutton@hotmail.com

CHAUTAUQUA COUNTY

Doug Wood (716)640-0206

Jason Fisher (716)223-0493

Marsha Holland (716)269-9170

ERIE COUNTY

Dave Ulatowski

Kevin Smith (716)352-4376

kevinsmith1228.ks@gmail.com