# REGULAR MEETING - BOARD OF TRUSTEES SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 1 DANIELS COUNTY, MONTANA

Open Session

DATE: February 13, 2023

TIME: 7:00 p.m.
PLACE: Music Room

MEMBERS PRESENT: Jesse Cole, Tim Tande, Leif Handran, DuWayne Wilson and Logan Olson

ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF PRESENT: Greg Hardy, Caitlin Buer and Colleen Drury

OTHERS PRESENT: Horizon Fugere, Josh Bilbrey, J'Ann Bilbrey, Kadence Oie, Morgan Oie,

Jackie Oie, Alanea King, Cooper King, Cindy Fouhy, Aiden Fouhy, Leah

Ridley, Amy Ridley, Leroy Nelson, Kyla Cromwell and Trevor

Manternach

Chairman Jesse Cole called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. Roll was taken and it was established that a quorum was present.

Chairman Cole recognized Patrons & Visitors.

On motion by DuWayne Wilson and seconded by Leif Handran, the minutes from the January 10, 2023 Regular meeting were approved unanimously as presented.

**Informational:** FFA Students were in attendance to give a power point presentation about what they have been doing. Due to technical difficulties, Chairman Cole moved on to Staff reports until they could get the presentation fixed.

## **Staff Reports:**

The Principal and Superintendent reports were discussed and are attached and made a part of these minutes by reference.

FFA Students Horizon Fugere and Aiden Fouhy then gave their presentation about current activities, awards and why Jr. High Students would be a benefit to the program.

Colleen Drury then gave the Business Manager report which is attached and made a part of these minutes by reference.

### **Committee Reports:**

DuWayne Wilson reported that although there was not a Finance Committee meeting, there is some legislation about elections and budgets that are worth watching and input from board members and staff is important.

#### Finance:

On motion by Leif Handran and seconded by Logan Olson Claims #18336 - #18379, excluding #18334- #18346 and #18358, dated January 7, 2023 – February 10, 2023 in the amount of \$71,869.98, were approved unanimously as presented.

On motion by DuWayne Wilson and seconded by Leif Handran, the Activities Report for the month of January, 2023 was approved unanimously as presented.

#### **New Business:**

Tim Tande moved to adopt the resolution calling for a mail ballot election on Tuesday, May 2, 2023, for the purpose of electing two (2) trustees for a three (3) year term and one (1) trustee for a one (1) year term and voting for general fund, technology and building reserve budget authority and funding as necessary. DuWayne Wilson seconded and all present voted in favor.

Tim Tande moved to appoint Kim Fjeld, Diane Bekker and Nancy Lund as school election judges for the May 2, 2023 school election. Logan Olson seconded and all present voted in favor.

DuWayne Wilson moved to allow Jr. High students to participate in FFA for the remainder of the 2022-2023 school year. Tim Tande seconded and all present voted in favor.

DuWayne Wilson moved to resolve the first reading, that the Hobart commercial ovens, which is the property of School District No. 1, has become abandoned, obsolete, undesirable or unsuitable for the purposes of the district, and to consider

the adoption of a resolution to authorize the sale or disposition of such property. Logan Olson seconded and all present voted in favor.

Leif Handran moved to approve the quote from Holmlund Lock and Key in the amount of \$2,867.00 for the Airphone monitor and installation as presented. DuWayne Wilson seconded and all present voted in favor.

Logan Olson moved to allow Fish Wildlife & Parks Hunter Education use of the small gym and shop February and March, 2023. Tim Tande seconded and all present voted in favor.

Tim Tande moved to approve Del Henderson as a Volunteer Jr. High Track coach for the 2023 spring season. Logan Olson seconded and all present voted in favor.

DuWayne Wilson moved to offer Caitlin Buer a 1.0 FTE contract with a 3% raise for the K-12 Principal position for the 2023-2024 school year. Logan Olson seconded and all present voted in favor.

Logan Olson moved to accept the resignations of Christian Feliciano and Jose Medina. Tim Tande seconded and all present voted in favor.

Tim Tande moved to hire Melissa Holum as a long term substitute for the remainder of the 2022-2023 school year. Leif Handran seconded and all present voted in favor.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjou	ırned.
	District Clerk