Bexar County Emergency Services District No. 4 24165 IH-10 West, Suite 217-603 San Antonio, TX 78257 www.bexarcountyesd4.org



Meeting Minutes July 6, 2020 7:00 P.M.

The Bexar County Emergency Services District No. 4 (ESD 4) conducted a meeting at 28036 Old Boerne Stage Road, Boerne, Texas, 78006 on Monday July 6, 2020 at 7:00 P.M. Members of the Board and the public were able to attend in person or via phone at 469-480-6297, conference code 560 711 059# due to the COVID-19 Social Distancing guidelines. The following was discussed:

- 1. Commissioner Huber called the Bexar County ESD 4 Meeting to Order at 7:00 P.M. and established a quorum. Commissioners Roberts and Rasmussen attended via phone.
- 2. Mr. Ron Haygood was sworn in to fill a vacancy on the Board. Commission Surratt motioned to add Mr. Haygood to the District's Frost and BBVA bank accounts as a signatory. Commissioner Rasmussen seconded the motion. Motion carried by a 5/0 vote in favor of.
- 3. The ESD 4 Commissioners motioned and approved unanimously that the Board Members fill the following positions: President John "Jack" Huber, Vice President Arthur Rasmussen, Secretary Robin Roberts, Treasurer Stephen Surratt, and Assistant Treasurer Ron Haygood.
- 4. Citizen Public Forum. No citizens chose to speak.
- 5. Approval of the minutes from the June 1, 2020 Board Meeting. Commissioner Surratt motioned to approve the June 1, 2020 meeting minutes. Commissioner Roberts seconded the motion. Motion carried by a 5/0 vote in favor of.
- 6. Leon Springs Volunteer Fire Department (LSVFD) Reports due to ESD 4. Mr. Costantino, LSVFD Treasurer, summarized and reviewed the following with the Board.
 - a. Mr. Costantino presented the May 2020 Run Report by the Service Provider.
 - b. Mr. Costantino reviewed the LSVFD expenditures for June 2020.
 - c. Action by the ESD 4 Board on approving the reimbursement request and monthly payment to the LSVFD. Commissioner Surratt motioned to approve the reimbursement of the Service Providers expenses. Commissioner Roberts seconded the motion. Motion carried by a 5/0 vote in favor of.
- 7. Discussion and appropriate action on the following:
 - a. Mr. Louie Jimenez presented a proposal to the Board to include a memorial for fallen Bexar County Fire Fighters in the Station 132 construction. The Board discussed various aspects of the proposal with Mr. Jimenez. Commissioner Huber will contact the Bexar County Fire Marshall's office on the topic to gage their interest.
 - b. Mr. Gabe Perez, Perez Project Consulting, presented the status of the Station 132 construction. Construction is moving along well. There are a few corrections

required on the base preparation and removal of organic material. The contractor is aware of the issues and is going to correct them.

- c. Action by the ESD 4 Board on approving the reimbursement request by Sabinal Group for the construction progress on Station 132. Commissioner Surratt motioned to approve the reimbursement by Sabinal Group. Commissioner Haygood seconded the motion. Motion carried by a 5/0 vote in favor of.
- d. Mr. Charles Laljer, Administrator, presented information on the new State ad valorem taxation rates and posting requirements. Mr. Laljer stressed that taxation rates should not be discussed by the Board without proper notification to the public.
- e. Commissioner Huber discussed the status of preparation of a specification for a new rescue truck to replace Rescue 132. He had sent out eight requests for information to different vendors and received four replies. Commissioner Huber and Assistant Chief Rice will continue to move forward with the specification and reach out to Mr. Bill Davidson for review.
- 8. Financial discussions and appropriate action:
 - a. Mr. Laljer presented a revised Fiscal Year (FY) 2020 ESD 4 budget for consideration by the Board. Commissioner Surratt motioned to approve the revised FY2020 ESD 4 budget. Commissioner Haygood seconded the motion. Motion carried by a 5/0 vote in favor of.
 - b. The Board discussed obtaining a credit or debit card for the District. Mr. Laljer stated that the District Attorney recommended a credit card for better security and that he had reached out to BBVA. Commissioner Surratt motioned to approve obtaining a credit card with a \$5,000 limit from BBVA with Mr. Laljer as the primary and Commissioner Huber and Ms. Kay Mohn, Assistant Administrator, as secondary signatories. Commissioner Haygood seconded the motion. Motion carried by a 5/0 vote in favor of.
 - c. Mr. Laljer provided the June 2020 ESD 4 financial report.
 - d. The outstanding bills owed by ESD 4 were reviewed.
 - e. Action by the Board on approving payments by ESD 4. Commissioner Surratt motioned to approve the ESD 4 payment requests. Commissioner Haygood seconded the motion. Motion carried by a 5/0 vote in favor of.
- 9. Determine date, time and possible agenda items for the next meeting. The next regularly scheduled Board meeting will be August 3, 2020.
- 10. Adjourn. With no further business before the Board, Commissioner Roberts made a motion to adjourn. Commissioner Haygood seconded the motion. Motion carried by a 5/0 vote in favor of. Meeting was adjourned at 8:32 P.M.