
Good morning! 
 
I received a great clip from a fellow official who said this may help others learn from it as he did (Thanks 
Ryan). Take a look at the clip here. 
 
Let’s review the SPOT throw-in rule, 4.42 and specifically 4.42.5b. 
 

 
 
Here is rule 7.5.7: 
 

 
 
Clearly 7.5.7 does not apply since we have a spot throw-in. 
 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1kh4W3ggrX1p9z2r5NzgM4kiFKz3ao7cv/view?usp=sharing


In our play, a second player comes OOB and is given/passed the ball and an automatic violation. We 
have no official mechanic for a throw-in violation, so we would blow the whistle and VERBALLY 
announce ‘Throw-in violation for two players touching the ball out of bounds’.  
 
The opposing team would then have a spot throw-in of their own at the same spot. If this had been a 
alternating possession throw-in for the team that violated, they would lose the arrow, so make sure to 
switch it before the opposing team starts their throw-in. 
 
REALLY appreciate officials willing to put themselves out there and admit they may have screwed up and 
are willing to let others learn from what they did! As Joe Frisina used to say, ‘nobody ever worked a 
perfect game’. ALL of us make mistakes! Those who learn from them (and the mistakes of others) get 
better and improve their game! Hopefully we just do not make the same mistakes over and over! 
 
Tuesday extra: So I have reminded all of us to make sure to look at the official scorer when reporting at 
the table…….I keep the book for my wife’s JV/V teams and last night (again) 2 of the 5 officials on the 
games did not look at me (with a striped shirt on) but rather at the timer. It really isn’t hard!!!!!! 
 
Have a great game tonight……remember that good teams know they are good and bad teams know they 
are bad. Make sure to talk about good vs good, bad vs bad or good vs bad teams in your pregame, 
whichever your game might be and what you need to do in it! 
 
Tim 


