
Good morning! 
 
Starting the actual game…the jump ball…….easy right?! HA! Here are 4 games played recently that had 
something happen on the jump ball to start the game…stick with me here!!!! 
 
Click here for the jump ball in a college game…NOT a 7th grade game in a middle school gym! How about 
THAT to start a game! So what do you have? NOTHING! All legal! Great toss! The white jumper obviously 
did not know if he could legally catch the ball after it had hit another player….then the ball is batted 
around until red gains control while on the floor! All legal! Gotta be ready for anything, even at the 
major college level! 
 
Click here for a held ball off the jump ball. Great toss here as well! The whistle blew when there is a held 
ball. So…..was there player control before the held ball? The crew ruled there was not and it was right in 
front of U1, so since she had a great look, we will go with no player control. It actually looks like white 12 
is close to player control but black 12 has her hands on the ball as well and no player control ruled. The 
held ball is whistled between white 1 (not an original jumper) and black 50 (an original jumper). How do 
we resume play since the arrow has not been established? We would resume play with another jump 
ball in the center circle between white 1 and black 50, the players who resulted in the held ball. 
 
Click here for a toss issue. What do you have on this toss? Officials I have seen the play with are 
split…some say the toss was stolen by black 2 and others say the toss was not high enough (that the ball 
was at its peak already). The U1 on this game had the R re-toss since he felt the toss was at its peak and 
needed to be higher. As the U1, you need to be able to explain the rationale for your whistle and if a re-
toss, why….and if a violation, why. Re-tossing is easy. A violation would be a throw-in in this play by 
white at the division line opposite the table. 
 
Click here for possession with a possible violation. How about this gaining of player control off the jump? 
Did white 35 have control before he stepped in the backcourt? TOUGH one here! The officials here ruled 
that no player control existed and they played on with white getting the ball and red the arrow. Breaking 
this down, it rally appears that white 35 was bobbling the ball as he stepped into the backcourt. In 
addition, the R had the red jumper as well as white 35’s back between him and the ball, so could not 
determine player control or not. U2 had even more people between him and the play and could not 
help. U1 had probably the best look but red 10 was directly between him and the potential player 
control. Great job here by not guessing by any of the crew. 
 
So the bottom line is that we need to be prepared on the jump ball for anything that might happen, do 
not assume it will go off without a hitch! 
 
Friday Extra:  When the jump ball DOES go off without a hitch, the R should glance at the table to make 
sure the arrow is set correctly and then up at the clock to make sure that it has started. Discuss this 
briefly in pregame to make sure everyone is aware of it….and if someone else is designated with the 
responsibility, fine! 
 
Have a great game tonight and safe travels! 
 
Tim 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1PPpHfNzZbgQnv-QOaMzyFcmBFkcENLFC/view?usp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1PrJnyE2kJY6MP2OMPZ3DxqgcpbcHleEv/view?usp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Qr1C-5ktxtl58XSTpz1dKo74pskqJYFN/view?usp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1QqXj_ZNzkcMUULxm_DTi658b3LIwHilJ/view?usp=sharing

