GRAND WATER & SEWER SERVICE AGENCY

Operating Committee Meeting April 17, 2003

The meeting was called to order by President Gary Wilson at 7:00 p.m. at the Agency office, 3025 East Spanish Trail Road, Moab, Utah. Other Operating Committee members present were Dan Holyoak, Neal Dalton, Barbara Morra, Dan Pyatt, William McDougald (arrived at 7:40 pm) and Rex Tanner. Other Board members present were James Walker (left at 7:50 pm) and Karla VanderZanden. Those present established a quorum.

Others present were Dave Cozzens, Karyle Klaus, Mike Johnston, Mark Sundeen, Dale Pierson, Stacey Boender, and Marsha Modine.

Minutes

Motion by Barb Morra to amend minutes. Motion died for lack of second. Motion by James Walker to approve the minutes of the meeting of April 3, 2003 as presented. Second by Neal Dalton. Gary Wilson-Aye, Dan Holyoak-Aye, Neal Dalton-Aye, Dan Pyatt-Aye, Rex Tanner-Aye, James Walker-Aye, Karla VanderZanden-Aye. William McDougald-absent for vote, Barbara Morra-Nay. MOTION CARRIED.

<u>Citizens to be Heard</u> Mike Johnston, Utah State University Cooperative Extension Agent for Grand County, addressed the Board about a talk he gave to the Living Rivers group last month. He explained that the mission of the USU Extension Office is to provide "research based, unbiased, non-political, educational information." He feels like he did not deviate from that mission nor advocate any position, when he gave a water conservation talk to Living Rivers.

2003 Irrigation Season Dale Pierson reported Ken's Lake has seen a one foot rise in the last two weeks. The flow is up to 6 cfs through Sheley Tunnel plus 3 cfs in-stream flow for a total of 9 cfs. Dale also said the start up of the irrigation system went very smooth this year.

Irrigation Seas

Neal Dalton asked Dale to write a letter to the irrigation customers, so they may properly plan their crops given a potential drought again this year. The board also suggested the letter include the possibility of customers sharing the cost of electricity for pumping irrigation water, if necessary later in the season. Karla VanderZanden moved to have Dale write a letter to the irrigation customers. Second by Rex Tanner. Gary Wilson-Aye, Dan Holyoak-Aye, Neal Dalton-Aye, Dan Pyatt-Aye, Rex Tanner-Aye, James Walker-Aye, Karla VanderZanden-Aye. William McDougald-absent for vote, Barbara Morra-Aye. MOTION CARRIED.

Report on Water Project Dale informed the Board that the water samples for the Chapman well were received earlier in the day. John Chartier, Sunrise Engineering, is preparing the request for the final operating permit. Barring any unforeseen circumstances, the new water system will be on next week. A letter will be mailed when the system is turned on to let all water customers know that they may see an increase in water pressure and / or possible discoloration of the water and to call the office if they have any problems.

Report on War Project

<u>County – Agency Web Site</u> Dale informed the Board that the Agency must develop its own web site if the Board decides to do so. The County will only provide a link to the Agency's page. A hand out explaining various web design charges was discussed with the board. Rough figures estimate it will cost between \$1600 to \$2500 per year to have a web site.

Web Site

Karla VanderZanden suggested the board focus on either a newsletter or a web site. Speaking from experience, doing both would take a significant amount of staff time even if the web site development and updating was not done by the in-house staff.

Rex Tanner suggested the web site contain historical data, conservation information, agreements, annual financial statements, and the quarterly newsletter. His intention for the website is to reduce information request burdens on the office staff and provide more information to the public. The

board suggested a web site professional attend the next meeting to answer questions. Dan Holyoak motioned to pursue the possibility of creating a web site. Second by Rex Tanner. Gary Wilson-Aye, Dan Holyoak-Aye, Neal Dalton-Aye, Dan Pyatt-Aye, Rex Tanner-Aye, James Walker-Aye, Karla VanderZanden-Aye. William McDougald-Aye, Barbara Morra-Aye. MOTION CARRIED

<u>Municipal Wastewater Self Assessment Report</u> Dale reviewed the Annual Wastewater Report requested by the Division of Water Quality with the Board. The DWQ requires the board to approve the report with a resolution. Motion to sign resolution 2003-01, approving the Municipal Wastewater Self Assessment report by Dan Holyoak. Second by Karla VanderZanden. Gary Wilson-Aye, Dan Holyoak-Aye, Neal Dalton-Aye, Dan Pyatt-Aye, Rex Tanner-Aye, Karla VanderZanden-Aye. William McDougald-Aye, Barbara Morra-Nay. James Walker-did not vote as he left at 7:50 pm. MOTION CARRIED.

<u>Check Approval</u> Motion by Dan Pyatt to approve the checks in the amount of \$127,248.52. Second by Dan Holyoak. Gary Wilson-Aye, Dan Holyoak-Aye, Neal Dalton-Aye, Dan Pyatt-Aye, Rex Tanner-Aye, Karla VanderZanden-Aye. William McDougald-Aye, Barbara Morra-Nay. MOTION CARRIED.

<u>March Financial Statement</u> The Board reviewed the March Financial statement with the staff.

<u>Items From Board</u> Barbara Morra asked about Dale's recent trip to Washington, D.C. Dale said he helped lobby for Rural Development and attended the national best tasting water contest. Since GW & SSA won the best tasting water in the state of Utah, the water was entered into the national contest. Both Dean and Dale's trip was paid for by the Rural Water Association of Utah.

Items From Staff None.

Executive Session on George White Property Purchase Motion to enter Executive Session by Karla VanderZanden. Second by William McDougald., Dan Holyoak-Aye, Rex Tanner-Aye, Karla VanderZanden-Aye, William McDougald-Aye, Barbara Morra-Aye, Gary Wilson-Nay, Dan Pyatt-Nay, Neal Dalton-Nay. MOTION CARRIED BY 2/3 MAJORITY. The Board entered Executive Session at 8:25 p.m.

The Board exited Executive Session at 9:04 p.m.

President Wilson declared the meeting adjourned. Hearing no objections the meeting adjourned at 9:04 pm.

ATTEST:	
Dale F. Pierson, Secretary/Treasurer	Gary N. Wilson, President