
Good morning! Better weather today than yesterday for sure. 
 
Take a look at a back court violation called here. 
 
So what we have is a rebound by white. New L takes off (the game had plenty of transition plays that 
necessitated new L getting to the baseline to receive the play) and red intercepts the pass in his own 
front court. He lands normally and both feet land in his own front court. His momentum takes him 
further and he takes one step into the back court…violation. 
 
Since he landed normally with both feet in the front court, the ball now has front court status. IF he had 
landed normally with one foot in the front court and one in the back court, the ball would have had back 
court status and he would have been legal. Recall rule 9.9.3: 
 

 
 
This is a back court violation. Was the call made from the correct position? In transition, we should talk 
about C having a ‘V’ the whole way across the floor and could potentially have a back court violation. C 
was correct in making the call. C could have had correct mechanics by stopping the clock with an open 
hand first. I assume the back court violation signal was given after the point but the clip ended! 
 
Make sure to talk about these potential plays in pregame! Having a solid pregame gets everyone’s head 
in the right frame of mind and also helps eliminate getting caught off guard! 
 
Thursday Extra: One current fashion statement being made is tucking the front of the shorts up under 
compression shorts as in the picture below. Many players (girls mostly) tuck the bottom of their shorts 
up under the compression shorts. No matter how they tuck it, it is considered LEGAL. 
 

 
 
Have a great game tonight! 
 
Tim 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1JwcYiTR4Pr_V0lnSfwvrn8NliZKZ-txJ/view?usp=sharing

