

141 Monticello Trail Columbia, SC 29203 (803) 896-9800 www.firesafe.sc.gov

For Immediate Release: April 28, 2021 Contact: Susan Duncan, Office Manager S.C. Division of Fire and Life Safety (803) 896-5790

80 S.C. Fire Departments Receive "Fire Safe South Carolina" Community Designation

Fire Safe South Carolina (FSSC) and its partners congratulate 80 local fire departments in 33 counties across the state who have actively worked to develop community risk reduction (CRR) plans for their jurisdictions in 2020.

These designated communities continually work to reduce fire-related injuries in our state, thereby decreasing the risks for residents and firefighters. They also promote consistent fire safety messaging and stress the importance of providing all relative data collected at fire scenes.

"The enthusiasm for obtaining this designation continues to grow, and we remain encouraged by active participation," Community Risk Reduction Chief Josh Fulbright said. "We congratulate the 80 designees and, even with the pandemic, are excited to see a 40 percent increase from last year. We look forward to recognizing them during the June Fire-Rescue Conference in Columbia - along with those from 2019 who could not be fully recognized last year."

Despite challenges associated with the pandemic, it is clear these fire departments continue to provide fire and life safety information to their local citizens.

Specifically, FSSC-designated communities took creative as well as virtual approaches to community risk reduction and documented outreach educational opportunities for nearly 55,000 citizens. Additionally, more than 1,300 fire service members were trained through the Community Risk Reduction curriculum, and more than 80 fire departments were represented during the annual Life Safety Education Conference.

Fulbright acknowledges the program is effective because of its dedicated community partners.

"With fire departments receiving more than 9,000 smoke alarms donated from their growing list of community partners, these relationships are an important part of this life-saving program."

Launched in 2017, Fire Safe SC's partners include the S.C. State Firefighters' Association, the S.C. State Association of Fire Chiefs, and the S.C. Fire Marshal Association. Together, they announce the following fire departments have obtained the Fire Safe SC Community designation. http://firesafe.sc.gov/docs/FIRESAFE%20CONGRATS%202020.pdf



2020 Fire Safe South Carolina Designated Communities

Abbeville City Fire and Rescue Aiken Department of Public Safety

Anderson County Fire Protection Commission

Awendaw-McClellanville Consolidated Fire District

Bamberg Fire District

Barnwell Rural Fire Department

Belton Fire Department

Bennettsville Fire Department

Bethany Fire Department

Bluffton Township Fire District

Boiling Springs Fire District

Bonham Fire Department

Buffalo-Cherokee VFD

Camden Fire Department

Charleston Fire Department

Cheraw Fire Department

Gaffney Fire Department

Hardeeville Fire Department

City of Isle of Palms Fire Department

City of Newberry Fire Department

City of Spartanburg Fire Department

Clarendon County Fire Rescue

Clemson University Fire and EMS

Clinton Fire

Columbia-Richland Fire & Rescue

Crosswell Fire District

Dacusville Fire Department

Dorchester County Fire Rescue

Fairfield County Fire Service

Flint Hill Fire Rescue

Florence Fire Department

Georgetown City Fire Department

Georgetown County Fire/ EMS

Greenville City Fire Department

Hartsville Fire Department

Hilton Head Island Fire Rescue

Honea Path Fire EMS

Howe Springs Fire Rescue

Irmo Fire District

Jasper County Fire Rescue

Keowee Springs Fire District

Kershaw County Fire Service

Kingstree Fire Department

Lady's Island-St. Helena Fire District

Lancaster County Fire Rescue

Lancaster City Fire Department

Lee County Fire and Rescue

Liberty Area Fire District

Long Branch Fire Department

Lugoff Fire Rescue

Mayo Fire Department

Midway Fire Rescue

Murrells Inlet-Garden City Fire District

North Charleston Fire Department

North Myrtle Beach Department of Public Safety

Orangeburg County Fire District

Parker District Fire Department

Pelham-Batesville Fire Department

Pickens Fire Department

Pickens Rural Fire/Rescue

Piedmont Park Fire District

Poplar Springs Fire Department

Prosperity Volunteer Fire Department

Sandy Branch Volunteer Fire Department

Santee Fire District

Sardis -Timmonsville Fire Department

Sheldon Township Fire District

Smyrna Fire Department

South Lynches Fire Department

St. Andrews Fire Department

St. Johns Fire District

Sumter Fire Department

Taylors Fire Department

Tega Cay Fire Department

Town of McCormick Fire Department

Tyger River Fire Service Area

West Columbia Fire Department

West Florence Fire Rescue

Westview-Fairforest Fire Department

Williamsburg County Fire Department