

## Association of the French of the North

(Founded in 1982)

P.O. Box 101 • Red Lake Falls, MN 56750

**July 2020** 

## **Bonjour AFRAN Members & Supporters**

We wish that you take note of the following. The Chautauqua & French-Canadian/Metis historical commemoration and festival will not take place this year of 2020, as it has for now some 38 successive years. We feel an emptiness within as we cancel our August historical commemoration and festival, but in so doing we feel we are committing to what is common practice for public institutions at this time. We will be ready to sponsor our wellknown arts event and historical commemoration in 2021 as we look forward to a greater control of the virus causing COVID-19. Best of luck to you as we all keep art in our lives in fresh new ways from now till, we meet again at Old Crossing.

All 2020 originally scheduled performers, presenters and encampment area participants have been contacted and have agreed to attend the Chautaugua & French-Canadian/Metis Festival scheduled for August 27, 28 & 29, 2021 and are described as follows: the "Poitin" Band from the Fargo-Moorhead area; the Ivan Flett Memorial Dancers from Manitoba; and Jan Smith, storyteller and author from Clitheral, Minnesota. (Please refer to the back page for more information on the 2021 performers and presenters.)

The 2021 Chautauqua Festival will be funded, in part, by a grant from the Northwest Minnesota Arts Council and the Minnesota arts and cultural heritage fund as appropriated by the Minnesota State Legislature with money from the vote of the people of Minnesota on November 4, 2008. The grant was approved by said Arts Council on April 9, 2020. After official action by the AFRAN Board of Directors to postpone the 2020 Chautaugua until 2021 and submitting the required prescribed notice of the change to the Arts Council, AFRAN will now be permitted to use the 2020 awarded funds for the artsrelated portion of the 2021 event as described above.

In the meantime, the AFRAN Board and other volunteers will focus their efforts on repairing the Food (Hoop) tent and staging sections and the painting of tables, all of which are currently owned by AFRAN.

> Sincerely, AFRAN Board: Virgil Benoit, President: Jane Vigness, Vice Pres.; Jerry Amiot, Treasurer.

Directors: Tim Brosseau: Don Desrosier: and LeRoy Pazdernik

## 2020 MEMBERSHIP DUES

Enclosed is an AFRAN Membership envelope for your use in becoming a member of AFRAN or renewing your membership. The date your membership dues were last paid is imprinted directly above your name and mailing address on the outer envelope. If this date does not agree with your records or if you have any other questions, please contact Jerry Amiot, AFRAN Treasurer, at (218) 289-8889 or jerry.amiot@hotmail.com

## 2020 AFRAN BOARD OF DIRECTORS



President: .......Virgil Benoit Vice President: . Jane Vigness Secretary: ...... Vacant Treasurer: ...... Jerry Amiot Director: ..... Tim Brosseau

Director: ..... Don Desrosier Director: .....LeRoy Pazdernik