Good morning! Happy Monday.....only two weeks of the regular season remaining......wow has it gone
fast.

Today’s tip.....continuous motion AND an explosion by a coach.

Continuous motion....... here is the definition in the rules book:

ART. 1

Continuous motion applies to a try or tap for field goals and free throws, but it has no significance unless there is a foul
by any defensive player during the interval which begins when the habitual throwing movement starts a try or with the
touching on a tap and ends when the ball is clearly in flight.

ART. 2

If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she is permitted to complete the customary arm
mowement, and if piveting or stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any activity
while helding the ball These privieges are granted cnly when the usual throwing motion has started before the foul
occurs and before the ball is in flight.

ART. 3

Continuous motion does not apply if a teammate fouls after a player has started a try for a goal and before the ball is
in flight. The ball becomes dead immediatehy.

If you ask the question “What else was he going to do?” and the ONLY answer is “Shoot the ball” then
we have continuous motion and count the goal on a foul if it goes in.

Take a look at the clip here and in real-time determine if it is continuous motion on the foul.

Counting the goal? PERSONALLY | have a good goal and one free throw. | say the ball handler HAD begun
the habitual throwing motion that starts the try.

OK, regardless of whether we agree or disagree on the continuous motion or not (certainly we will not
all agree and that is ok, especially at different angles), what about the coaches reaction? Even if we
make the WORST CALL that basketball has ever seen, there is a line that coaches may not cross in their
actions OR in what they say. When we have an explosion physically like this coach did that everyone in
the gym can see, we have no choice, it MUST be a technical foul. If the coach crosses the line in what
he/she says, we can NOT allow that to happen or we have lost our integrity and that coach knows
he/she can get away with crossing the line. The technical foul here was very deserved for the explosion.
Call it, get away from the table and move on. In a case like this, we also need to make sure that at least 2
of the crew members talk (if a two-person crew, make sure the players on the floor are separated). It
would be a great idea to send the calling official across the floor, away from the coach....even though we
may be going to the opposite end to shoot free throws. NO NEED to keep the official that the coach is
irate with closest to him/her.


https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0BdW-mdo6vcV0xlLXpRVlY4cW8/view?usp=sharing

Allowing an explosion without penalty just shows the other coach where we have drawn the line for this
game and certainly does not help our game the rest of the way.

Bottom line is that right or wrong in a call, there is a line that a coach may not cross. Now, if | know that |
have kicked a call, | will probably take more abuse than normal, but that line is still that line.....the coach
may not cross it.

Stay focused in your game this evening, think about the foul on a potential shot and ask yourself ‘what
else was the ball handler going to do?’ Safe travels and make sure to keep having a good pre-game and

stretch before every game.

Tim



