Good morning!

Drive from Cin a three-person game that goes right down the lane line.......ball handler beats the
primary defender and there is a crash with the secondary defender......whose call?

Can C legitimately make a definite call on this? Most likely C is officiating the ball handler and primary
defender. Most likely C has no idea how the secondary defender got to his/her spot. L is on the opposite
lane line in a closed down position....... L should have the secondary defender and KNOW how he/she got
to his/her spot.

Take a look at the clip here.

This play has it all.......drive starts in T’s PCA.......he has a count and continues to have the count through
the contact. NO WAY the T has clue about this crash and how the secondary defender got to his spot.
The C has a competitive matchup coming out directly towards him AND a potential shooter stepping
back on the baseline towards the three-point arc. C has lots going on. L has a strong side low block
matchup and is looking into the paint and at the drive coming as well. He sees the secondary defender
and correctly determines that this help defender gained LGP. The L determined there was enough
contact for a foul here......that the ball handler dislodged the defender. The ball handler appears to ‘stop
on contact’ but the collision and dislodging certainly created an advantage for the ball handler. Player
control! The L here did a great job of getting the crash with the secondary defender, the T and C also did
a great job by ‘staying off’ the secondary defender crash and they avoided a double whistle. The COULD
(should) have had a fist up first, then the player control call.

Obviously this crew talked about primary/secondary defenders in their pregame conference. Taking this
philosophy seems to be the BEST way to avoid double whistles........ primary defender is the call from the
PCA the drive initiated (T or C) and secondary defender crashes get whistles from the L. This seems
much easier than “if it is going to L, let L take it”. Many times, the call from C has a quick draw official
who signals right away and his partner does the same at L and we end up in a blarge of a mess.

Consider the primary/secondary defender philosophy on drives to the hole........ it will help your game
and make it easier to officiate!

Remember that to establish Legal Guarding Position on a player with the ball, time and distance are NOT
a factor! Rule 4.23 and article relevant to establishing LGP are:

ART 2
To obtain an initial legal guarding posifion:
a. The guard must have both feet touching the playing court.

b. The front of the guard's torso must be facing the epponent.

ART 3
After the initial legal guarding position is obtained:

a. The guard may have one or both feet on the playing court or be airborne, provided he/she has inbound
status.

b. The guard is not required to continue facing the opponent.

c. The guard may mowve laterally or obliguely to maintain posifion, provided it is not toward the opponent
when contact occurs.

d. The guard may raise hands or jump within hisfher own vertical plane.

e The guard may furn or duck to absorb the shock of imminent contact

ART. 4
Guarding an opponent with the ball or a stationary opponent without the ball
a. No time or distance is reguired to obtain an initial legal position

b. If the opponent with the ball is airborne, the guard must have obtained legal position before the opponent
left the floor.


https://drive.google.com/file/d/1M3R7WCR1DGzDl1NJQIVwQJzc05mwXIA8/view?usp=sharing

Tuesday Extra: Remember that all officials are to be involved in the pre-game captains meeting. The
alignment should be something like this.......

Have a great game tonight!

Tim



