
Good morning everyone…..busy morning with all the postponements on the western end of the 
state….guessing it is similar all over the state as well with this winter weather we are having. 
 
Yesterday’s clips brought lots of comment! The consensus was overwhelming that the push in clip 1 by 
blue was a flagrant foul. Some reasoned that it was probably her fifth anyhow and she was ‘getting her 
money’s worth’. Very well could have been, and she could get that seat on the bench for the next game 
as well…..plays like that have now acceptable place in our game. Just take care of it and move on. 
 
Today’s tip is an extension of yesterday’s. It was mentioned that a foul by the defense on a player 
OTHER than the shooter does not make the ball dead immediately if the shooting motion has started by 
the shooter. Here are the relevant sections of our rules book: 
 

 
 
Notice that if the foul by the defense occurs after the ‘habitual throwing movement starts a try…’ then 
continuous motion applies. Take a look at the two clips today…..thanks to Ron Leeds for the first clip, 
and as Ron points out, this happens once or twice a season, but we need to be prepared and not caught 
off guard when it DOES happen. Take a look at clip 1 and clip 2. 
 
Clip 1: 
 
The C and T (C especially has urgency) do a GREAT job getting to the spot of the foul as preventative 
maintenance. The T counts the goal because he knows the shooting motion started before the foul but 
goes to the C to talk about it to GET IT RIGHT before reporting it all to the table. Notice that both C and T 
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stay facing the players to make sure nothing more happens from the foul. Communication here is 
excellent! 
 
The ruling on this play is a good three-point goal for red and push foul on white 3. I am not going to 
guess about the scoreboard, SO we would resume play by…….1) if red was NOT in the bonus, they would 
get the ball for a baseline throw-in because the ball was within the semicircle, 2) If red WAS in the 
bonus, red 34 would shoot a one-and-one and we would continue play as normal off the free throw(s), 
3) if red was in the DOUBLE bonus, red 34 shoots 2 free throws and play resumed as normal after the 
second free throw. In my opinion, this push foul was not intentional. IF IT HAD BEEN, the three-point 
goal counts, red 34 gets 2 free throws with nobody on the line, then red gets the ball nearest the spot of 
the foul (baseline) for a throw-in. 
 
Clip 2: 
 
This clip shows that the T waves the shot off, so NO continuous motion was given. In ‘real time’ this is 
about as close as it gets! In slo-mo, it is pretty close also, but it appears that the push through the screen 
foul does occur just as the pass is being received by the shooter. The T was VERY solid on his mechanics 
here and ‘sold’ the call well! THESE are the times we need to be make sure we are clear and sell calls. 
Excellent job by this official/crew as well….notice that C had a double whistle on the play with T and they 
made sure to not have ‘conflicting calls’ by C holding the preliminary signal.  
 
In this play, the three-point goal does not count, there is a push foul on red 50 and then the same as the 
other clip, we would have a baseline throw-in if white was not in a bonus situation and if white were in a 
bonus, white 13 would be at the line shooting. 
 
Just be prepared for these types of plays……talk to your partner(s) when it happens…get it right! 
Communication is key! 
 
Have a great game……whenever your next one is! 
 
Tim 


