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2023-24 NFHS Basketball Rules Book Corrections: (Underlining shows additions; strikethrough shows

deletions.)

Page 58, 8-5-3 – By any player of the free-thrower's team from the out-of-bounds spot nearest the foul if

the free throw is for an intentional personal foul or flagrant personal foul from: a. One of the four

designated spots nearest the foul if the team retains possession in its frontcourt, or b. The out of bounds

spot nearest the foul if the team retains possession in its backcourt.

Page 61, 9-2 PENALTY: (Section 2) – Following a violation: a. If the opponent is awarded possession in its

frontcourt, the throw-in will be at one of the four designated spots nearest the violation. b. If the opponent

is awarded possession in its backcourt, the ball is awarded to the opponent for a throw-in will be at the

original throw-in spot.

2023-25 NFHS Basketball Officials Manual Corrections: Page 172, NOTIFY COACH OF DISQUALIFIED PLAYER

– When a player fouls out, the calling official is responsible for notifying the coach, having table personnel

start the 20 15-second substitution clock and informing the player,…

SITUATION 1: Team A has possession of the ball in its frontcourt when the ball is deflected out of bounds by

Team B. The ball exits the court along the end line close to the right sideline. Team A is granted an inbounds

at the location where the ball exited the court. While Team A is trying to inbounds the ball, Team A calls a

time-out. After the time-out, the inbounds spot (a) returns to the same spot; (b) moves to the designated

spot 3 feet outside of the lane along the end line. RULING: (a) Correct procedure; (b) Incorrect procedure.

COMMENT: Since the ball was not on the court, the time-out did not create a “stoppage in play” that would

move the inbounds spot to one of the four designated spots. Play will continue from the inbounds spot

established by the deflection of the ball by Team B. (7-5-2, 7-5-3a)

SITUATION 2: Team A has possession of the ball in its frontcourt when the ball is deflected out of bounds by

Team B. The ball exits the court along the end line close to the right sideline. Team A is granted an inbounds

at the location where the ball exited the court. While Team A is inbounding the ball, B1 (a) commits a

common foul – the team’s third foul of the quarter; (b) intentionally kicks the ball as it is passed to A2. The
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throw-in location for (a) and (b) moves to the designated spot closest to where the foul/violation occurred.

RULING: (a) and (b) correct procedure. COMMENT: Team A will retain possession in its frontcourt after a

foul/ violation. The new throw-in location for Team A will be at one of the four designated spots nearest to

the foul/violation. (7-5-2, 7-5-3a, 7-5-4)

SITUATION 3: An official administers a throw-in to Team A, when the throw-in should have been given to

Team B. A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and A2 scores quickly before the officials realize their mistake. Before

the ball is inbounded by Team B, the official stops play, communicates with the scorekeeper to remove the

points scored, tells the timer to reset the clock to the time remaining when the throw-in was awarded to the

wrong team and awards Team B a throw-in. RULING: Incorrect procedure. COMMENT: Once the ball is dead

following the made basket by A2, no correction can be made. After the ball has been inbounded by the

wrong team the correction has to be made before the ball becomes dead or before there is a change in

possession. Play continues with Team B’s throw-in from the end line after the made basket by A2. (7-6-6)

SITUATION 4:  An official administers a throw-in to Team A, when the throw-in should have been given to

Team B. A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and (a) A2 attempts a try, and the official realizes their mistake and

blows their whistles while the ball is in flight – the try is good; (b) A2 attempts a try and the official realizes

their mistake and blows their whistle while the ball is in flight – the try is not good and Team A secures the

rebound.  RULING: In (a) and (b) the status of the ball has changed and is no longer in Team A’s control while

it is in flight. The mistake cannot be corrected. COMMENT: While the ball has not become dead or changed

possession, the status of the ball has changed. Once the ball has changed status away from team control

no correction can be made. In (a) the points are added to the team score for Team A and Team B will have

the end line on the in-bound. In (b), regardless of which team gets the rebound, the ball is awarded based

on the alternate possession arrow since there was no team control when the whistle was blown. The throw-

in would take place at the nearest spot in the backcourt or one of the four spots in the frontcourt nearest

the ball. If no whistle had been blown, play would continue without stoppage. (7-6-6)

SITUATION 5: An official administers a throw-in to Team A, when the throw-in should have been given to

Team B. A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and B2 knocks the ball loose. While the ball is loose, the official

recognizes their mistake, whistles and awards the ball to Team B for a throw-in from the same spot.

RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: A loose ball does not change the status of the ball as it is still in

Team A’s control. The mistake can be corrected until the status of the ball changes. The clock should be

reset to the time remaining when the throw-in was made by Team A. (7-6-6)

SITUATION 6: A1 takes off from inbounds, jumps over the end line, catches an errant pass and throws it

back inbounds to teammate A2 in Team A’s frontcourt. A1 lands out of bounds and runs back onto the court

and catches the first pass from A2. RULING: Legal. COMMENT: A player stepping out of bounds to make a

play on the ball and then returning to the court has not left the court under the player’s own volition. The

player left the court to make a play on the ball and is eligible to receive the first pass once inbounds

position is established. (9-3-3)
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SITUATION 7: B1 is defending A1 in Team A’s frontcourt. B1 runs out of bounds across the end line to avoid

a screen set by A2. Upon returning to the court, B1 (a) intercepts a pass from A3 to A1; (b) touches the ball

as it is passed from A3 to A1 before A1 retains possession for Team A. In both (a) and (b), B1 is the first

player to touch the ball after returning to the playing court. RULING: (a) Out-of-bounds violation; (b) no

violation. COMMENT: B1 left the court under the player’s own volition and became the first player to touch

the ball after returning to the playing court. In (a), a violation is called due to the advantage gained by B1’s

actions that resulted in Team B gaining possession. In (b), Team A retained possession after the touch by B1

– play continues with Team A in possession. (9-3-3)


