

Minutes of the Germany Society SAR

Meeting 14 • March 2, 2018 • Brown Hotel, Louisville, KY

<u>The Spring 2018 Meeting</u> was gaveled to order at 4 PM by Germany SAR President David Jessel. The invocation was given by Dr. David Schrader. President David Jessel led the Pledge of Allegiance. Secretary John H. Bredenfoerder led the Pledge of the SAR.

Welcome: President Jessel welcomed the Germany Society Compatriots

<u>President Report:</u> President Jessel shared how operations are proceeding with the German DAR chapter and JROTC DOD Schools in Germany. The Fall 2017 Minutes were approved.

Awards:

President Jessel presented the following awards:

Certificates of Appreciation to:

Kevin R. Carr

Eric H. Troutman

Certificates of Distinquished Service

David E. Schrader

John L. Dodd

Meritorious Service Medal

John H. Bredenfoerder

Silver Roger Sherman Medal

Lester A. Foster, Jr.

Vice President Report: No report.

<u>Secretary Report:</u> Secretary Bredenfoerder reported that the total membership is now 225. <u>Treasurer Report:</u> Treasurer Bredenfoerder reported that the checking balance as of 3.1.18 was \$8694.10. This includes \$218.35 in net pin sales to be used toward flags, and \$8475.75 in general funds.

The Society will continue to pay the dues for our compatriots located in Germany until that membership reaches 15. We currently have 11 primary members living in Germany.

<u>Genealogist - Registrar Report:</u> No report.

<u>Chaplain:</u> No report. <u>Chancellor:</u> No report.

<u>Sergeant-At-Arms:</u> No report. <u>Trustee Report:</u> No report.

Old Business:

None

New Business:

Item 1:

Treasurer Bredenfoerder presented recommendations for Germany Society donations as follows:

Germany Society Eagle Scout Award	\$ 200
USO	\$ 250
SAR Friends of the Library	\$ 50
SAR Council of Youth Awards	\$1000
SAR Foundation GRS	\$ 250
TOTAL RECOMMENDED DONATIONS	\$1750

After discussion, the Committee-at-Large recommended the following revision to Treasurer Bredenfoerder's recommendation:

Germany Society Eagle Scout Award	\$ 200
USO	\$ 250
SAR Friends of the Library	\$ 50
SAR JROTC Endowment Fund	\$1000
SAR Foundation Tomme Fund	\$ 500
TOTAL RECOMMENDED DONATIONS	\$2000

Treasurer Bredenfoerder moved that the revised donation recommendations of the Committee-at-Large be accepted by the membership. With no further discussion a vote was taken and the recommendation was approved by a unanimous vote.

Item 2

The Nominating Committee presented its recommended slate of candidates for Germany Society officers for 2018-2019

President	David G. Jessel
Vice President	Bruce A. Buehler
Secretary	John H. Bredenfoerder
Treasurer	John H. Bredenfoerder
Registrar	Eric H. Troutman
Genealogist	Eric H. Troutman
Chaplain	David E. Schrader
Chancellor	John L. Dodd
Sergeant-At-Arms	Kevin R. Carr
National Trustee	James C. Taylor
Alternate National Trustee	David G. Jessel

Further nominations were requested from the floor. None were offered. A motion was made to accept the recommended slate by acclamation. The recommendation

passed unanimously. A vote was then taken to approve the slate of candidates. The slate of candidates was approved unanimously.

Item 3:

PG J. Michael Tomme, Sr. installed the newly elected officers of the Germany Society SAR

Good of the Order:

President Jessel announced that our next meeting will be held in conjunction with the 2018 National SAR Congress at The Westin Houston, Memorial City Hotel, Houston, TX.

Adjournment: President Jessel adjourned the meeting at 4:51 PM.

Compatriots in attendance:

J. Michael Tomme, Sr. Lindsey C. Brock
Robert Sapp Eugene Smith
David Hoover Walt Seaton

David Jessel Carroll R. Harbaugh Tony L. "Bo" Vets Peter Moeller

Matthew Barlow, Jr. MD
Steven Miller

David Schrader
Elwin Spray

Wayne H. Mallar

Bill Schwetke

Revin Carr

Robert Taylor

Stephen Baldwin

George Strunk

Roger W. Coursey

Don & Nancy Burdick

Patrick Niemann

Brett Osborn

Derek Brown

James Klingler

Steve Monez

Bernard W. Wolff

David Johnson Les Foster

Pat Kelly William Lee Popham, Sr.

Shep Hammack Eric H. Troutman

Donald L. Roberson Rob Meyer

Jim Skaggs John H. Bredenfoerder

John Dodd Bruce A. Buehler

Bruce Pickette

Respectfully submitted,

Respectivity submitted,

