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JANUARY 2022  

Hitting The Wrong Ball (Rule 6.3) 

It has happened to all of us.  You arrive at the green to find you have hit a stray ball 

found on the course rather than your own ball in play, or worse, you have hit your 

playing partner’s or opponent’s ball.  What should you do? 

In Stroke Play: 

You must go back to the original spot/lie of your ball, estimated if not known exactly.  

Drop the original ball (or a substituted ball) and take the General Penalty (two 

strokes.)  Complete the hole with this ball.  Any strokes made with the wrong ball do 

not count.  If two players hit each others’ balls they must both go back and take the 

general penalty. 

In Match Play: 

If you played the wrong ball you take the general penalty which is loss of hole in 

Match Play.  If two players hit each other’s balls the first to make a stroke at the 

wrong ball gets the general penalty (loss of hole.)  If it is not known which wrong 

ball was played first both players must go back and play out the hole with no 

penalty. 

Exception to this rule:  If hitting a ball out of moving water in a penalty area or in 

temporary water and it could not be identified before making the stroke, there is no 

penalty.  The player must correct the mistake by playing her own ball from the 

original spot. 

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/video-hub.html#brightcoveId=6203292690001&pageTitle=A%20Closer%20Look%20at%20Mickey%20Wright's%20Cherished%20Artifacts&playlist=carousel


MARCH 2022  

Accidentally Hitting the Ball   

The USGA defines a “stroke” as the forward movement of the club with the intention 

to strike the ball.  Therefore, if a player accidentally hits her ball when making a 

practice swing she has not made a stroke.  

If this occurs on the tee area the ball is not yet in play and she merely retees with 

no penalty.  (Rule 6.2b(5)&(6)) 

If this occurs on the putting green she must simply replace her ball to the original 

spot with no penalty.  (Rule 13.1d(1)) 

If this occurs anywhere else, i.e. in a bunker, a penalty area, or in the general area 

the ball is already in play.  This would not be considered a “stroke” because there 

was no intention to hit the ball, but because the ball was in play it incurs a penalty.   

In this case, she must replace her ball to the original spot and take a one stroke 

penalty.  If she plays the ball without replacing it to the original spot it becomes a 

two stroke penalty (or loss of hole in match play.)  (Rule 9.4) 

 

APRIL 2022  

Relief For Ball In A Yellow Penalty Area 

In November we explored some new rules involving Penalty Areas.  This month we 

will cover how to take relief from a Yellow Penalty Area.  Rule 17.1d 

 

If a player’s ball is known or virtually certain to be in a Yellow Penalty Area these are 

the relief options, each for one penalty stroke: 

1) Stroke-and-Distance Relief  (a player may always play again from the  

    original spot) 

    2) Back-on-the-Line-Relief        

(See Explanatory Diagram on next page)                                                         

Note that the Relief Point and the Relief Area must NOT be in the Penalty Area and if 

more than one area of the course is located within one club-length of the Reference 

Point the ball must come to rest in the same area of the course the ball first touched 

when dropped in the relief area. 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



JULY 2022  

Relief For Ball In A RED Penalty Area  

This month we will explore how to take relief from a Red Penalty Area. 

If a player’s ball is known or virtually certain to be in a Red Penalty Area the player 

again has the previously discussed (April 2022) options for relief: 

1)      Stroke-and-Distance Relief 

2)      Back-on-the-Line Relief 

3)      Lateral Relief 

a.       The Reference Point is again the estimated point where the ball 

crossed the margin of the Penalty Area 

b.      But the size of the Relief Point is now two club-lengths 

 

 



AUGUST 2022  

Unusual Situations In A Penalty Area 

Recently we have covered how to take relief from Yellow and Red Penalty Areas.  

This month we explore some unusual situations encountered in Penalty Areas. 

1. When a ball is in a No Play Zone in a Penalty Area the ball cannot be played as 

it lies and relief must be taken as discussed previously.  This situation arises 

frequently at The Vineyard and other area courses where No Play Zones are 

Environmental Areas marked by red stakes with green tips. 

 

2. A player does not get relief from an Immovable Object if the Object is in a 

Penalty Area.  

a. An example of this might be a bridge crossing a stream that is a Penalty 

Area.  If the player’s ball lands on the bridge there is no free relief.  The 

ball may be played as it lies or relief may be taken in the usual ways.  

This situation may arise at Rancho Bernardo Inn and other area courses. 

 

3. When a Dangerous Animal condition interferes with the play of the ball in a 

Penalty Area the player may 

a. Take Free Relief in the Penalty Area (no closer to the hole) or 

b. Take Penalty Relief outside the Penalty Area for ONE penalty stroke 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



OCTOBER 2022 

More Unusual Situations In A Penalty Area 

1. When a ball played from a Penalty Area situation comes to rest in the same or a 

different Penalty Area, Rule 17.2a delineates how relief is to be taken. 
 

        
 

Link to USGA Rule #17 & 17.2a Diagrams 
 

2. When a ball played from a Penalty Area situation is Lost or Out of Bounds or 

Unplayable Outside the Penalty Area, the player may sometimes be required or 

choose to take stroke-and-distance relief because the original ball is either: 

 out of bounds or lost outside the penalty area(Rule 18.2) , or  

 Unplayable outside the penalty area (Rule 19.2a) 

 

a) If taking stroke-and-distance relief the ball is dropped in the original spot in 

the penalty area for ONE penalty stroke.  The player may then play that ball 

OR take relief outside the penalty area for an additional penalty stroke (TWO 

total). 

 

b) The player may also directly take relief from outside the penalty area without 

first dropping the ball in the penalty area BUT still gets a total of TWO penalty 

strokes. 

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rule-17.html#:~:text=Continued))%20or%20under%20Rule%2017.2,relief%20outside%20the%20penalty%20area


NOVEMBER 2022 

The USGA is issuing 5 major rule changes for 2023.  

1. Players with disabilities include players who are blind, are amputees, use 

assistive ability devices, or have intellectual disabilities.  The Rules of Golf 

authorized Modifications to the Rules that could be adopted by the Committee 

in charge of a competition.  They did not automatically apply to every 

competition.  But starting in 2023, they become firm rules and always apply to 

players with disabilities. 

 

2. Previously a player was required to put her handicap on the score card 

before turning it in to the Committee.  However, starting in 2023 you are no 

longer required to have your handicap on your score card and will not be 

penalized if you have the wrong handicap on the card.  It is the responsibility 

of the Committee to verify the handicaps. 

 

3. In the past if a club was damaged by the player during a round it could not be 

replaced.  Now starting in 2023 if you damage a club (as long as it was not 

deliberate) you may replace it.  If your club is damaged by an outside force or 

another player you can still replace it as before. 

 

4. Previously a ball moved by natural forces, such as wind, was played from 

the new spot (except on the putting green when it is replaced on the original 

spot.) But starting in 2023, a ball moved by natural forces that comes to rest 

in another part of the course must be returned to its original spot with no 

penalty. 

 

5. The back-on-the-line relief rule which is used for an unplayable ball or ball 

in a penalty area was complicated and wordy.  It also required that the 

dropped ball come to rest no nearer the hole.  This rule has been simplified to 

merely state that the ball must be dropped on the line and come to rest within 

one club length of where it hits the ground in any direction, including nearer 

the hole. 

 

  

 

 

 

 



DECEMBER 2022 

Last month we detailed the 5 most important rule changes for 2023.  There are a few 

more to know about. 

1. Rule 10.2b(4) says you cannot stand behind your partner to gain information about 

your side’s next stroke.  It also makes clear that a caddie cannot stand behind a 

person putting to gain information. Now the same is explicitly stated for foursomes 

(Rule 22.6) and fourball play (Rule 23.8.) 

 

2. In the old rules penalties for too many clubs, late to the tee and unreasonable delay 

of game in Stableford competitions were decided by the committee after the round 

and before signing the card.  Now penalties are added just as they are in stroke play.  

For example, if you have 15 clubs in your bag there is a 2-stroke penalty for each 

hole up to 4 max.  You can still not have any score lower than “0” for any hole.  This 

also applies to Par/Bogey competitions. 

 

3. Rule 11 stated that a ball in motion that hits any person or outside influence must 

be played as it lies and there is no penalty.  Exception 2 to that rule said that on the 

putting surface the ball must be returned to its original spot and the stroke did not 

count.  NOW the rule has been amended so that if a ball on the putting surface hits 

the player, his club used to make the stroke or an INSECT the stroke counts and the 

ball must be played as it lies.  In an odd twist the old rule would have required you 

to replay a putt if it hit an insect and still dropped into the hole.  With the new rule 

you would no longer be required to reputt. 

 


