Minutes **Orientation and Inaugural Council Meeting**

Monday, December 3, 2018

A Council Orientation Meeting was held on Monday, December 3, 2018 at 5:00 p.m. All of Council was in attendance. This training session lasted until 6:50 p.m.

The inaugural meeting for the newly elected Council of the Corporation of the Town of Rainy River was held on Monday, December 3, 2018 at 7:00 p.m. in the Rainy River Seniors Activity Depot.

In attendance were: Mayor Deborah Ewald and Councillors Larry Armstrong, Pat White, Martin Kreger, Andrew Hartnell, Neil Ivall and Brent Helgeson. Also in attendance were Ashley Stamler, Gord Armstrong and Susan Carpenter.

The minutes were recorded by Chief Administrative Officer Veldron Vogan.

Opening of Meeting

The CAO, Veldron Vogan, opened the meeting by thanking everyone for attending the inaugural meeting of council. This was followed by a moment of silence and a salute to the Queen.

Additions or Deletions to the Agenda

No additions or deletions were made.

Oath of Office of Mayor and Council by Chief Administrative Officer

The Oath of Office for Mayor Elect Deb Ewald was administered by the Chief Administrative Officer, Veldron Vogan.

Mayor Ewald then administered the Oath of Office to the Councillors Elect as follows: Larry Armstrong, Andrew Hartnell, Neil Ivall, Martin Kreger, Pat White and Brent Helgeson.

Assignment of New Committees and Members

Motion #18-155A – Pat White – Brent Helgeson

"To amend Motion #18-156 to add Martin Kreger under the Hannam Park, Cemetery and Beautification Committee."

Carried

Motion #18-156 - Pat White – Larry Armstrong

"That the following committee structure be accepted:

COMMITTEES OF COUNCIL EFFECTIVE DECEMBER 3, 2018

Finance/Personnel – Pat White, Larry Armstrong, Neil Ivall

Health & Safety – Larry Armstrong, Neil Ivall

Public Works/Water & Sewer/Recycling – Larry Armstrong, Brent Helgeson, Martin Kreger

Property/By-laws/AMBIS – Pat White, Andrew Hartnell, Brent Helgeson

Economic Development/Tourism – Pat White, Andrew Hartnell, Martin Kreger

Beautification/Cemetery/Hannam Park -Larry Armstrong and Martin Kreger

Fire Board – Deb Ewald and Martin Kreger

Recreation Board/Curling Club – Brent Helgeson, Andrew Hartnell

Library Board – Andrew Hartnell

Rainy River House/Medical Centre – Deb Ewald and Neil Ivall

DSSAB - Deb Ewald

RRDMA – Deb Ewald

Deputy Mayor – Pat White."

Carried

Appointment of Deputy Mayor

Motion #18-157 - Martin Kreger – Pat White

"That Councillor Pat White acts as Deputy Mayor in the absence of Mayor Deborah Ewald."

Carried

Signing Authority

Motion #18-158 - Larry Armstrong – Martin Kreger

"That the Corporation of the Town of Rainy River authorizes the following changes to the signing authority for the Town of Rainy River:

THAT Councillor Gordon Armstrong be removed as a signing officer."

Carried

Library Board Trustees

Motion #18-159 - Andrew Hartnell – Brent Helgeson

"That the Corporation of the Town of Rainy River hereby appoints the following individuals to the Rainy River Public Library Board as Library Board Trustees for a term starting December 1, 2018 and ending November 15, 2022:

Donna MacDonald Shawn Neilson Donna Moen Bob McGreevy Anna Robinson Norina Sopotiuck"

Carried

Presentation to Outgoing Councillors

Adjournment

Motion #18-160 - Neil Ivall – Andrew Hartnell

"There being no further business, the meeting is hereby adjourned at 7:17 p.m."

Carried

The adjournment of the meeting was followed by a mix and mingles for the public and members of council.

Original Signed	Original Signed	
Mayor	Deputy Clerk-Treasurer	