IDAHO

Carved from the Washington Territory in 1863,¹ the judicial system in the new territory was handled by (four-year) term judges until statehood in 1890.² Idaho remains a single-district state, though now with two authorized district judgeships, and is housed in the Ninth Circuit.

Statutory History					
Seat	Legislation	Authority			
ID.ST.01	Act of July 3, 1890	26 Stat. 215			
ID.ST.02	Act of February 10, 1954	68 Stat. 8			

Seat Histories							
Position #	Name	Date of Confirmation	Date of Departure	Reason	Party		
ID.ST.01.01	Beatty, James Helmick	February 4, 1892 ³	April 13, 1907	Resigned	Republican		
ID.ST.01.02	Dietrich, Frank Sigel	December 17, 1907 ⁴	January 3, 1927	Elevated to Ninth Circuit	Republican		
ID.ST.01.03	Cavanah, Charles Cheatham	January 3, 1927	January 31, 1942	Retired	Republican		
ID.ST.01.04	Clark, Chase Addison	March 5, 1943	April 30, 1964	Retired	Democrat		
ID.ST.01.05	McNichols, Ray	April 30, 1964	July 1, 1981	Retired	Democrat		

¹Act of March 3, 1863, 12 STAT. 811.

²Act of July 3, 1890, 26 STAT. 215. See Monique C.Lillard, The Federal Court of Idaho, 1889-1907: The Appointment of James H. Beatty, Idaho's First Federal District Court Judge, *Western Legal History* 2 (1989): 34-78.

³Recess appointment, March 7, 1891.

⁴Recess appointment, March 19, 1907.

ID.ST.01.06	Ryan, Harold L.	December 16, 1981	December 30, 1992	Retired	Republican
ID.ST.01.07	Winmill, Barry Lynn	August 11, 1995	Active	Active	Democrat
ID.ST.02.01	Taylor, Fred M.	July 20, 1954	December 15, 1971	Retired	Republican
ID.ST.02.02	Anderson, J. Blaine	December 4, 1971	July 2, 1976	Elevated to Ninth Circuit	Republican
ID.ST.02.03	Callister, Marion J.	August 26, 1976	June 6, 1989	Retired	Republican
ID.ST.02.04	Lodge, Edward J.	November 21, 1989	Active	Active	Republican