Good morning!

What have you done when you have a double whistle and your partner takes the call without a) knowing
you had a whistle, or b) looking to you to see what you have? What if you Do look at each other, you
defer, but then have something different than your partner when he/she reports the foul? What should
you do?

Take a look at an example of this here.

In this play, the L and C have a double whistle, they both have the same foul, they look at each other and
the C takes the foul to the table. All good! The only issue is that the C has a shooting foul and the L has
the b all handler passing the ball instead of shooting. The T sees/hears what is happening since the L
pointed to a spot and the C said loudly ‘going up’.

Should we talk as a crew? ABSOLUTELY! This happened to be early in the fourth quarter of what ended
up being a 2-point game. The crew quickly agreed that it was a pass on the foul, not a shooting foul.
Correctly, the reporting official sounded the whistle and gave the ‘Out of bounds!’ call so that both
teams knew what was agreed to.

What should the crew have done better? Even though the discussion was brief, the teams should have
been separated just to make sure nothing happened between them. We either need eyes on all players
at all times OR send them to their benches.

When you have anything ‘weird’, it is good to talk to your partner(s) to make sure we have all the
information. Same as at the end of a close game — it is fine to talk to your partner(s) to make sure were
all know what is happening with timeouts, the clock, team foul situations, etc.

Friday Extra: Some discussion among friends was had about the ‘obstructing an opponent’s eyes’ clip
from yesterday. Questions were asked if a warning can be given. Are we to give a warning for the other
parts of the unsporting technical foul rule 10-4-6? Can we selectively enforce a rule or give a warning
because we think it is too harsh? Hmm....Guaranteed that the PIAA official will support usif we calla T
since it is clearly written in the rules book.

Friday Bonus: Has anyone mentioned to make sure you are keeping your assigner up-to-date with your
closed/blocked dates? Reschedule dates are at a premium this late in the season and when an athletic
director asks if officials are available and you may be the only one to fill out a crew, the assigner assumes
you are open if that is what you show.....please make sure to update your officiating schedule so that
your assigner knows!

Have a great game tonight!

Tim


https://drive.google.com/file/d/1pW6XbWJNnT900NvLEir16eupb3uTnY0y/view?usp=sharing

