## TOWN OF UNITY Unity Select Board MINUTES January 30, 2017

## PRESENT

Edward ("Ed") Gregory
William ("Bill") Schroeter
John Callum
Harold Booth, Highway
Capt. Jamie Wilson, Sullivan County Sheriff

Debra Leahy, Library Trustee Rhoda Staff, Library Rosemary Heino, Town Clerk Ted Lewit, Parks & Rec/Cemetery Wayne Michaud, Resident

Ed called the meeting to order at 4:00 pm.

Capt. Wilson gave his report on the police log for the months of December and January. Calls were normal. He also discussed the price of \$175.00 for selling the guns that the town owns which have been in the safe. Bill made a motion to accept the price. Second by John. All in favor. Capt. Wilson will act as an agent for the Town to make the sale.

John made a motion to approve the Minutes of January 23, 2017 as written. Second by Bill. All in favor.

John made a motion to approve the Minutes of January 28, 2017 as written. Second by Bill. All in favor.

Bill made a motion to sign a pistol permit. Second by John. All in favor.

At 4:30 pm John made a motion to begin the Quarterly Safety Meeting. Second by Bill. All in favor.

At 4:45 Bill made a motion to return to the Selectmen's Meeting. Second by John. All in favor.

John made a motion to approve vacation days of 3/8, 3/20, 4/8 and 4/17 for Rosemary. Second by Bill. All in favor.

Rosemary stated that she has someone interested in the Deputy Town Clerk position. She will have her come in to do employment paperwork.

Rosemary also said that the State of New Hampshire will be implementing new software and will be down from February 17-22. She will post the notice.

Wayne Michaud suggested that the Town modify the elderly Tax Exemption for ages 65-75 from \$7,000 to \$14,000, for ages 75-80 from \$14,000 to \$28,000 and for ages 80 and older from \$28,000 to \$40,000. The Selectmen will write up and Article for the Warrant.

The Selectmen had a work session on the 2017 town budget.

At 7:05 Bill made a motion to continue the meeting on Wednesday at 4:30 pm. Second by John. All in favor.

Respectfully submitted,		
Tracy Decker Secretary	SELECTBOARD	
Edward A. Gregory	William A. Schroeter	John M. Callum, Jr.