## MINUTES OF THE REORGANIZATION OF LIBERTY COUNCIL TUESDAY, JANUARY 2, 2018

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Reorganization meeting convened at 7:15 pm. District Justice Armand Martin administered the Oath of Office to Larry Sikorski, Michael Matlos, Janice Matyasovsky, Christopher Ponchak, Timothy Sloss, and Shelley Aquilante.

Mayor Sikorski appointed Debbie Helderlein as Temporary Secretary. Officials present for the meeting were Councilors Mike Matlos, Chris Ponchak, Tim Sloss, Janice Matyasovsky, and Melissa Morgan; and Mayor Larry Sikorski.

Mayor Sikorski asked for nominations for President of Council. Mr. Ponchak nominated Mrs. Morgan, seconded by Mrs. Matyasovsky. There were no other nominations. Mrs. Morgan was elected President of Council by a unanimous vote.

Mayor Sikorski turned the meeting over to Council President Morgan. Mrs. Morgan asked for nominations for Vice President of Council. Mrs. Matyasovsky nominated Mr. Ponchak, seconded by Mr. Sloss. There were no other nominations. Mr. Ponchak was elected Vice President of Council by a unanimous vote.

Mr. Sikorski was elected to three positions: Mayor, 2-year council, and 4-year council. Since Mr. Sikorski accepted the Mayor's position, two vacancies were created on council. Mrs. Morgan asked for nominations for the 2-year Mr. Ponchak nominated Jane Weigand, seconded by Mrs. vacancv. Matyasovsky. Mr. Sloss nominated Kris Kircher; there was no second. Mrs. Weigand was appointed to the 2-year vacancy by a vote of 4 to 1, with Mr. Sloss voting no. Mrs. Morgan made a motion to adopt Resolution 2018-01, appointing Jane Weigand to the 2-year council vacancy. The motion was seconded by Mrs. Matyasovsky and passed 4 to 1, with Mr. Sloss voting no. Mrs. Morgan asked for nominations for the 4-year vacancy. Mr. Sloss nominated Kris Kircher; there was no second. Mr. Ponchak nominated Michael Zrenchak, seconded by Mr. Matlos. Mr. Zrenchak was appointed to the 4-year vacancy by a vote of 4 to 1, with Mrs. Matyasovsky abstaining because Mr. Zrenchak is her son-in-law. Mrs. Morgan made a motion to adopt Resolution 2018-02, appointing Michael Zrenchak to the 4-year council vacancy. The motion was seconded by Mr. Ponchak and passed unanimously. District Justice Armand Martin administered the Oath of Office to Jane Weigand and Michael Zrenchak, and they took their seats at the council table.

Mrs. Matyasovsky made a motion to reappoint Debbie Helderlein as Borough Secretary/Treasurer. The motion was seconded by Mrs. Weigand and passed unanimously.

Mr. Zrenchak made a motion to reappoint Jamie Leber as Office Assistant. The motion was seconded by Mrs. Weigand and passed unanimously.

Mr. Ponchak made a motion to reappoint Matt Racunas as Solicitor. The motion was seconded by Mrs. Matyasovsky and passed unanimously.

Mrs. Matyasovsky made a motion to reappoint Don Glenn as Borough Engineer. The motion was seconded by Mr. Ponchak, and passed unanimously.

Mrs. Weigand made a motion to retain The Valley Mirror as the official newspaper of the borough. The motion was seconded by Mr. Ponchak and passed unanimously.

Mrs. Weigand made a motion to reappoint Bruce Takaht, Mike Matlos, and Corey Derr to the Street Department. The motion was seconded by Mr. Zrenchak and passed 6-1, with Mr. Matlos abstaining.

Mr. Ponchak made a motion to reappoint William Wall as Custodian. The motion was seconded by Mrs. Matyasovsky and passed unanimously.

Mr. Ponchak made a motion to reappoint Luke Riley as Police Chief. The motion was seconded by Mr. Matlos and passed 6-1, with Mrs. Matyasovsky voting no.

Mr. Ponchak made a motion to retain the part-time casual police force. The motion was seconded by Mrs. Weigand and passed unanimously.

Mrs. Matyasovsky made a motion to reappoint Mike Bogdan as Code Enforcement Officer. The motion was seconded by Mr. Matlos and passed unanimously.

Mr. Ponchak made a motion to appoint Corey Derr as Emergency Management Coordinator. The motion was seconded by Mrs. Weigand and passed unanimously.

Mrs. Weigand made a motion to appoint Tim Sloss as Deputy Emergency Management Coordinator. The motion was seconded by Mr. Zrenchak and passed 6-1, with Mr. Sloss abstaining.

Mr. Ponchak made a motion to reappoint Gaydos-Behanna Kennel as Animal Control Officer. The motion was seconded by Mr. Matlos and passed unanimously.

Mr. Ponchak made a motion to reappoint Dave Collura as Wildlife Control Officer. The motion was seconded by Mrs. Weigand and passed unanimously. Mrs. Weigand made a motion to reappoint Building Inspection Underwriters as Building Inspector. The motion was seconded by Mr. Zrenchak and passed unanimously.

Mrs. Morgan named the Committee Chairmen and Delegates/Alternates:

Finance: Mrs. Matyasovsky Streets and Sewers: Mr. Zrenchak Property: Mrs. Weigand Health and Ordinance: Mr. Sloss Police and Fire: Mr. Ponchak Legislation: Mr. Ponchak Parks and Recreation: Mrs. Morgan Personnel: Mrs. Matyasovsky Lights: Mr. Matlos

Delegate to EMS: Mrs. Matyasovsky Alternate to EMS: Mr. Ponchak

Delegate to Steel Rivers COG: Mrs. Matyasovsky Alternate to Steel Rivers COG: Mr. Zrenchak

Delegate to PSAB: Mr. Sloss Alternate to PSAB: Mr. Matlos

Delegate to ACBA: Mrs. Weigand Alternate to ACBA: Mrs. Morgan

Mr. Ponchak made a motion to establish the monthly meeting dates as the second Wednesday of each month, with the Workshop at 6:00 pm and the Regular Session at 7:30 pm. The motion was seconded by Mrs. Weigand and passed unanimously.

Mrs. Morgan set the order for Roll Call:

Mrs. Matyasovsky Mr. Sloss Mr. Zrenchak Mrs. Weigand Mr. Matlos Mr. Ponchak Mrs. Morgan

The next Regular Session is scheduled for Wednesday, January 10, 2018, with the Workshop at 6:00 pm and the Regular Session at 7:30 pm.

A motion to adjourn was made by Mrs. Matyasovsky, seconded by Mr. Zrenchak. All were in favor and the meeting adjourned at 7:40 pm. Respectfully submitted,

Debra L. Helderlein Borough Secretary