MINNESOTA

The Minnesota Territory became a state in 1858.¹ It was organized as and remains a singledistrict, housed in the Eight Circuit. MN.ST.03 was created as a temporary line in 1922 but was renewed by Congress in 1925,² and was converted to permanent status ten years later.³ Such is also the case with MN.ST.07, which originally was a temporary position in 1978⁴ that became permanent six years later.⁵

Statutory History				
Seat	Legislation	Authority		
MN.ST.01	Act of May 11, 1858	11 Stat. 285		
MN.ST.02	Act of February 4, 1903	32 Stat. 795		
MN.ST.03	Act of September 14, 1922	42 Stat. 837		
MN.ST.04	Act of March 2, 1925	43 Stat. 1098		
MN.ST.05	Act of May 28, 1930	46 Stat. 431		
MN.ST.06	Act of October 20, 1978	92 Stat. 1629		
MN.ST.07	Act of October 20, 1978	92 Stat. 1629		
MN.ST.08	Act of July 10, 1984	98 Stat. 333		

Minnesota has seven district judgeships.

Seat Histories					
Position #	Name	Date of Confirmation	Date of Departure	Reason	Party

¹Act of May 11, 1859, 11 STAT. 285. See also, *History of the United States District Court for the District of Minnesota* (Minneapolis: West Publishing Co., 1989).

²Act of September 14, 1922, 42 STAT. 837.

³Act of August 19, 1935, 49 STAT. 659.

⁴Act of October 20, 1978, 92 STAT. 1629.

⁵Act of July 10, 1984, 98 STAT. 333.

MN.ST.01.01	Nelson, Rensselaer Russell	May 30, 1858	May 18, 1896	Resigned	Democrat
MN.ST.01.02	Lochren, William	May 18, 1896	March 31, 1908	Retired	Democrat
MN.ST.01.03	Purdy, Milton Dwight	Unconfirmed recess appointment ⁶	March 1, 1909	Not confirmed	Republican
MN.ST.01.04	Willard, Charles Andrew	May 18, 1909	March 13, 1914	Deceased	Republican
MN.ST.01.05	Booth, Wilbur Franklin	May 4, 1914	March 18, 1925	Elevated to Eighth Circuit	Democrat
MN.ST.01.06	Sanborn, John Benjamin	March 18, 1925	January 23, 1932	Elevated to Eighth Circuit	Republican
MN.ST.01.07	Joyce, Matthew M.	February 3, 1932	October 11, 1954	Retired	Republican
MN.ST.01.08	Devitt, Edward James	February 4, 1955 ⁷	May 1, 1981	Retired	Republican
MN.ST.01.09	Magnuson, Paul A.	October 29, 1981	February 9, 2002	Retired	Republican
MN.ST.01.10	Ericksen, Joan N. ⁸	April 25, 2002	Active	Active	Republican
MN.ST.02.01	Morris, Page	March 9, 1903	June 30, 1923	Retired	Republican
MN.ST.02.02	Cant, William Alexander	January 15, 1924 ⁹	January 12, 1933	Deceased	Republican
MN.ST.02.03	Bell, Robert Cook	June 10, 1933	May 1, 1961	Retired	Democrat
MN.ST.02.04	Larson, Earl R.	August 9, 1961	June 30, 1977	Retired	Democrat

⁶Recess appointment, July 6, 1908.

⁷Recess appointment, December 10, 1954.

⁸Appointed as Joan Ericksen Lancaster

⁹Recess appointment, May 21, 1923.

MN.ST.02.05	MacLaughlin, Harry H.	September 16, 1977	October 1, 1992	Retired	Democrat
MN.ST.02.06	Davis, Michael J. ¹⁰	March 25, 1994	Active	Active	Democrat
MN.ST.03.01	McGee, John Franklin	March 2, 1923	February 15, 1925	Deceased	Republican
MN.ST.03.02	Molyneaux, Joseph West	March 18, 1925	February 28, 1937	Retired	Republican
MN.ST.03.03	Sullivan, George F.	August 17, 1937	April 14, 1944	Deceased	Democrat
MN.ST.03.04	Donovan, Dennis Francis	July 17, 1945	December 31, 1965	Retired	Democrat
MN.ST.03.05	Lord, Miles W.	April 28, 1966	May 20, 1985	Retired	Democrat
MN.ST.03.06	Doty, David S.	May 7, 1987	June 30, 1998	Retired	Republican
MN.ST.03.07	Frank, Donovan W.	October 21, 1998	Active	Active	Independent
MN.ST.04.01	Nordbye, Gunnar Hans	February 3, 1932 ¹¹	March 6, 1967	Retired	Republican
MN.ST.04.02	Neville, Philip	July 31, 1967	February 13, 1974	Deceased	Democrat
MN.ST.04.03	Alsop, Donald D.	December 18, 1974	August 28, 1992	Retired	Republican
MN.ST.04.04	Tunheim, John R.	December 22, 1995	Active	Active	Democrat
MN.ST.05.01	Renner, Robert G.	February 20, 1980	February 22, 1992	Retired	Republican
MN.ST.05.02	Kyle, Richard House	May 12, 1992	May 31, 2005	Retired	Republican

¹⁰First African American district judge appointed from Minnesota.

¹¹Recess appointment, March 18, 1931.

MN.ST.05.03	Schlitz, Patrick Joseph	April 26, 2006	Active	Active	Republican
MN.ST.06.01	Murphy, Diana E. ¹²	February 20, 1980	October 7, 1994	Elevated to Eighth Circuit	Democrat
MN.ST.06.02	Montgomery, Ann D.	August 2, 1996	Active	Active	Democrat
MN.ST.07.01	Rosenbaum, James M.	July 16, 1985	Active	Active	Republican

¹²First female district judge appointed from Minnesota.