MAINE

Under the Judiciary Act of 1789,¹ thirteen district courts were created: one each for the states that had ratified the Constitution; and one each for Maine (then a part of Massachusetts) and Kentucky (then a part of Virginia).² Maine and Kentucky were not included in any of the three circuits created by the act, and with rare exceptions their district courts exercised both district and circuit court jurisdictions. Statehood occurred in 1820,³ and Maine was established as a single-district state and lodged in the First Circuit. The court has three judgeships.

Statutory History						
Seat	Legislation	Authority				
ME.ST.01	Act of September 24, 1789	1 Stat. 73				
ME.ST.02	Act of October 20, 1978	92 Stat. 1629				
ME.ST.03	Act of December 1, 1990	104 Stat. 5089				

Seat Histories							
Position #	Name	Date of Confirmation	Date of Departure	Reason	Party		
ME.ST.01.01	Sewall, David	September 26, 1789	January 9, 1818	Resigned	Federalist		
ME.ST.01.02	Parris, Albion Keith	January 28, 1818	January 1, 1822	Resigned	Jeffersonian Democrat		
ME.ST.01.03	Ware, Ashur	February 15, 1822	May 31, 1866	Resigned	Jeffersonian Democrat		
ME.ST.01.04	Fox, Edward	May 30, 1866	December 14, 1881	Deceased	Republican		

¹Act of September 24, 1789, 1 STAT. 77.

²See Neal Allen, A Brief History of the United States District Court for the District of Maine, mimeo provided by the Clerk of the Court.

³Act of March 30, 1820, 3 STAT. 554.

ME.ST.01.05	Webb, Nathan	January 24, 1882	June 30, 1902	Retired	Republican
ME.ST.01.06	Hale, Clarence	May 19, 1902	January 1, 1922	Retired	Republican
ME.ST.01.07	Peters, John Andrew	November 14, 1921	January 2, 1947	Retired	Republican
ME.ST.01.08	Clifford, John D., Jr.	March 14, 1947	November 18, 1956	Deceased	Democrat
ME.ST.01.09	Gignoux, Edward Thaxter	August 22, 1957	June 1, 1983	Retired	Republican
ME.ST.01.10	Carter, Gene	June 22, 1983	January 2, 2003	Retired	Republican
ME.ST.01.11	Woodcock, John A., Jr.	June 12, 2003/June 16, 2003	Active	Active	Republican
ME.ST.02.01	Mitchell, George J.	October 4, 1979	May 16, 1980	Resigned	Democrat
ME.ST.02.02	Cyr, Conrad Keefe	September 25, 1981	November 20, 1989	Elevated to First Circuit	Republican
ME.ST.02.03	Hornby, D. Brock	April 27, 1990	Active	Active	Republican
ME.ST.03.01	Brody, Morton A.	July 18, 1991	March 25, 2000	Deceased	Republican
ME.ST.03.02	Singal, George Z.	June 30, 2000	Active	Active	Democrat