

Fourth and fifth graders from A.P. Tureaud Elementary School in New Orleans participated in discussions and games at the "Abraham Ride On" educational program in commemoration of the bicentennial of Abraham Lincoln's birth.

Lincoln Law Day Program Presented to Middle School Students

The Louisiana State Bar Association, in cooperation with the Louisiana Center for Law and Civic Education and Karen Chatman Edutainment, conducted several instructive and entertaining presentations in May aimed at educating students about President Abraham Lincoln during the bicentennial of his birth.

The program, titled "Abraham Ride On," educated middle school students—in a fun and interactive way—about Lincoln as a lawyer, the Gettysburg Address and the Emancipation Proclamation. Attorney volunteers presented the information in the context of a fun game of "Who Wants to Be a Lincoln Fan." They helped students gain an understanding of the significance of Lincoln's presidential acts on their lives today. Some inspired students presented their own impromptu "rap" on Lincoln.

The program was presented to 100 fourth and fifth graders at A.P. Tureaud Elementary School in New Orleans and to 140 sixth, seventh and eighth graders at James Singleton Charter School in New Orleans.

Ehret High School Represents Louisiana in "We the People" National Competition

The team from John Ehret High School in Marrero, La., represented Louisiana in the national "We the People" competition in April in Washington, D.C. The Ehret



Attending the state "We the People" competition were Robert Leming, right, national director of "We the People;" and Hon. C. Wendell Manning, Louisiana Center for Law and Civic Education president.

team placed in the mid-range section of finalists.

The nationally recognized "We the People" program is a project of the Center for Civic Education and is funded by the U.S. Department of Education by act of Congress. Its mission is promoting quality civics and law-related education throughout the United States.

The Ehret team raised funds to pay travel expenses through school-sponsored activities and was assisted with donations from the Louisiana State Bar Association and the Baptist Community Ministries.

The state competition was held in February at the Jefferson Parish Courthouse in Gretna. Fifty-eight students competed. The students from Helen Cox High School (Harvey, La.), West Jefferson High School (Harvey, La.) and John Ehret High School vied for the top spot, with John Ehret's team, led by George Allan, emerging as the victor. Jonetta Jackson and Chris Totaro are to be commended on the performances of their teams.

Carl Dermady, Jr. organized the state competition, which included the participation of time keepers, scorers and a panel of 18 judges. Serving on the judges' panel were Hon. C. Wendell Manning, 4th Judicial District Court; and John Alexander, Heather Angelico, Robert Bonnaffons, Belinda Cambre, Gary Cotogno, Denise Funck, Nicholas Griffin, Hunter Harris, Angela Holland, Amy Kern, Eric LeBlanc, Louis Lloyd, Ann Majeste, Dr. William Miller, Jeffrey Oubre, Charlie Paine, Mary Jo Roberts and Adrienne Sanderson.

Hon. Stephen J. Windhorst arranged for the competition to be held at the Jef-



The team from John Ehret High School in Marrero, La., represented Louisiana in the national "We the People" competition in April in Washington, D.C. The Ehret team placed in the mid-range section of finalists.

ferson Parish Courthouse. Also offering assistance were Hon. Robert M. Murphy, Hon. June Berry Darensburg, Hon. Hans J. Liljeberg, Hon. Lee V. Faulkner, Jr., Jefferson Parish Clerk of Court Jon Gegenheimer, Judicial Administrator Michael T. O'Brien and Jefferson Parish Courthouse Director of Security Lt. Gerald J. LaCour, Jr.

Also on hand for the event were Robert Leming, national director of "We the People;" Hon. C. Wendell Manning, Louisiana Center for Law and Civic Education president; Barbara Turner Windhorst, Louisiana Center for Law and Civic Education board member; Jamie Staub, Jane Wilson, Kristina Kassab and Louis Lloyd, "We the People" Congressional District coordinators; and John Ehret High School Principal Maria Landry and Helen Cox High School Principal Darvell Edwards.



The Law League of Louisiana presented its 2009
Taylor, Porter, Brooks & Phillips Law School
Merit Awards to four law school graduates in
May. The awards are based on grades. From
left, Cheri Buchler, Law League president;
recipient Michael Letourneau, Louisiana
State University Paul M. Hebert Law Center;
recipient Keith Watson, Tulane Law School;
recipient Kimberly Calais, Southern University
Law Center; recipient Megan Matheny, Loyola
University College of Law; and Mary Ann
Sherry, Law League Merit Award chair.