WYOMING

Wyoming achieved statehood in 1890,¹ and was established as a single-district state which it remains. The jurisdiction of the district court is unique in that it is the only court to extend across state lines. All of Yellowstone National Park—which includes portions of Montana and Idaho—is under the Wyoming court². Originally assigned to the Eighth Circuit, Wyoming was moved to the Tenth when the latter was created in 1929.³ It has three district judgeships.

Statutory History						
Seat	Legislation	Authority				
WY.ST.01	Act of July 10, 1890	26 Stat. 222				
WY.ST.02	Act of July 10, 1984	98 Stat. 333				
WY.ST.03	Act of December 1, 1990	104 Stat. 5089				

Seat Histories								
Position #	Name	Date of Confirmation	Date of Departure	Reason	Party			
WY.ST.01.01	Riner, John Alden	September 22, 1890	October 21, 1921	Retired	Republican			
WY.ST.01.02	Kennedy, Thomas Blake	October 25, 1921	November 6, 1955	Retired	Republican			
WY.ST.01.03	Kerr, Ewing Thomas	March 1, 1956 ⁴	September 26, 1975	Retired	Republican			

¹Act of July 10, 1890, 26 STAT. 222.

²For more detail see, Rebecca W. Thomson, The Federal District Court in Wyoming, 1890-1982, provided by the clerk of the court; Rebecca W. Thomson, Wyoming: The Territorial and District Courts, in the Honorable James K. Logan, ed., *The Federal Courts of the Tenth Circuit: A History* (Denver: U.S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit, 1992).

³Act of February 28, 1929, 45 STAT. 1346.

⁴Recess appointment, October 22, 1955.

WY.ST.01.04	Brimmer, Clarence A., Jr.	September 15, 1975	September 27, 2006	Retired	Republican
WY.ST.01.05	Vacant				
WY.ST.02.01	Johnson, Alan Bond	December 16, 1985	Active	Active	Independent
WY.ST.03.01	Downes, William F.	June 15, 1994	Active	Active	Democrat