Good morning!

We are bracing for another shot of weather here in the NW, so hoping for no postponements the next
couple days!

Yesterday’s tip about team control.....the last team in control STASYS in control until a player on the
opposing team gains control.......so in the clip, NO free throws since team control had not switched. Take
your time, get it right.

Quiz answer from yesterday’s question? NO (during an AP throw-in, if the throw-in team violates, they
have lost the arrow.....the violation negates it for that team.)

Today’s quiz question:

1. While A-1"s throw-in is in flight and prior to any control inbounds, A-2 and B-2 are assessed a double personal - 3. Yes  No
foul. The official re-administers the throw-in to team A_ [s the official correct?

Today’s topic.....legal guarding position. The topic of a player laying on the floor and an opposing player
tripping over the player on the floor always generates much discussion. Take a look at the clip here,
think about what you call (or do not call), then come back to read a bit more.

What do you have? Here is the beginning of the rule concerning guarding:

ARTA1

Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent. There is no minimum distance
required between the guard and opponent, but the mazimum is G feet when closely guarded. Every plaver is
entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent.
A playerwho extends an arm, shoulder, hip or leqg into the path of an opponent is not considered to have a legal
position if contact ocours.

ART 2
To obtain an initial legal gquarding position:
a. The guard must have both feet touching the playing court.

b. The front of the guard’s torso must be facing the opponent.

What are your thoughts now? This is a foul......I have heard the argument that every player is entitled to
a spot on the floor, as the sentence in article 1 says. The problem is that we cannot just pull that one
sentence out as a stand-alone rule in this case. It goes hand-in-hand with the entire paragraph that
starts with ‘Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of the offensive opponent.’ This
did not happen in this clip. The player in green did not establish legal guarding position, thus we have a
foul on him. In this play, we definitely have an advantage/disadvantage decision to make. Did green
being on the floor and white tripping over him cause white to be put at a disadvantage? YES! Green


https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0BdW-mdo6vcVjhqR180OGtPMVU/view?usp=sharing

never gained legal guarding position before contact. Remember, a late whistle on a foul is better than
no whistle.

Have a great game tonight!

Tim



