Judge Sims Receives Judge Benjamin Jones Judges in the Classroom Award

hreveport City Court Judge Sheva M. Sims is the recipient of the Louisiana Center for Law and Civic Education's (LCLCE) Judge Benjamin Jones Judges in the Classroom Award. The award was presented by LCLCE President Lawrence J. Centola III during the Louisiana State Bar Association's (LSBA) Midyear Meeting in January.

Judge Sims was elected to the Shreveport City Court (Division D) in 2011 and re-elected in 2014. Her judicial role encompasses jail clearance, evictions, peace bonds, criminal, civil and DWI trials, small claims, traffic, criminal and DWI arraignments and other matters. Before becoming a judge, she was a practicing attorney for more than 17 years, handling civil and criminal litigation, small claims and domestic cases. She received a BS degree in mathematics in 1989 from Dillard University and her JD degree in 1994 from Southern University Law Center.

Because of her focus to improve the community's understanding of the judicial system, she received the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Civil Rights Award, the LSBA's Crystal Gavel Award, the SPAR Seminar of Excellence Award and the Dr. Jesse N. Stone Pioneer Award. In October 2017, she was elected as the District 6 director for the National Association of Women Judges.

Judge Sims has hosted community informational seminars, "Know Your Legal Rights." Her portrait was recently added to the Southern University Law Center's Wall of Fame for her achievements in the legal profession.



Shreveport City Court Judge Sheva M. Sims, left, is the recipient of the Louisiana Center for Law and Civic Education's (LCLCE) Judge Benjamin Jones Judges in the Classroom Award. Presenting the award was LCLCE President Lawrence J. Centola III. Photo by Matthew Hinton Photography.

Honorees continued from page 400

Hon. Horace A. Thompson III New Orleans
Paul T. ThompsonJackson
Hugh C. Uhalt New Orleans
John E. Unsworth, JrMetairie
James A. Van Hook, JrShreveport
Claude D. Vasser
Barry F. VioscaRiver Ridge
Frank M. Wagar Covington
Henry C. Walker Shreveport
Gerald P. Webre
Richard A. Whann New Orleans
Ronald P. Whittington Hammond
Darrel Van Willet, Jr Pineville
James E. WilliamsCrested Butte, CO
John G. Williams Natchitoches
Lynn E. Williams Baton Rouge
Thomas M. WillmottMetairie
Hon. Charles Connell WilsonHahnville
John M. Wilson New Orleans
R. Joseph Wilson Jena
W.L. Wilson Baton Rouge
Donald S. Wingerter Baton Rouge

60-Year Honorees Admitted in 1958

Allain C. Andry III	New Orleans
Louis G. Baine, Jr	Madison, MS
Hon. Russell Bankston.	Zachary

Robert E. Blackwell Baton Rouge Col. Terry W. Brown Columbia, SC Hon. Burrell J. CarterGreensburg Noble M. Chambers, Jr.....Crowley Carl A. DengelRodchester, MN Peter E. Duffy New Orleans George A. Frilot III..... New Orleans John N. Gallaspy Bogalusa H. Charles GaudinMetairie Fred R. Godwin Lake Charles Ronald J. Gossen Lafayette Donald M. Hall Orlando, FL Charles L. Hamaker......Monroe Paul E. Hurley New Orleans John B. HusseyShreveport Rader Edward Jackson III New Orleans Walter E. Kollin River Ridge Jeron J. LaFargue..... Lafayette Walter J. LandryArlington, VA Will E. Leonard, Jr..... Washington, DC Joseph H. Loyd.....Cali, Colombia Hon. Frank L. Maraist Baton Rouge Bernard Marcus New Orleans Margot L. MazeauArlington, VA W.J. McAnelly, Jr. Houston, TX William H. McClendon III St. Francisville Donald A. Meyer Sante Fe, NM Samuel A. Miceli, Jr. Covington Rene S. Paysse......Metairie

Hon. Arthur J. Planchard	Baton Rouge
Thomas Arnoult Rayer I	Pass Christian, MS
Charles H. Ryan	Monroe
Hon. John A. Shea	New Orleans
Melvin A. Shortess	Baton Rouge
Thomas W. Staed I	Daytona Beach, FL
W. Monroe Stephenson II	Slidell
William O. Templet	Plaquemine
Joseph Anthony Towers	Metairie
Leon C. Vial III	Hahnville
Michael M. Wahlder	Dry Prong
Hon. Charles R. Ward	New Orleans
Robert I. White	Bryan, TX

70-Year Honorees Admitted in 1948

James T. Adams	Shreveport
Nicholas D. Bernard	Lafayette
Henry W. Bethard III.	Coushatta
Ted R. Broyles	Leesville
Roy M. Fish	Shreveport
Edmond L. Guidry, Jr.	St. Martinville
Richard A. Hinckley	New Orleans
William Mc M. King.	Covington
Robert E. Leake, Jr	Covington
Iddo Pittman, Jr	Highlands Ranch, CO
Gerard F. Thomas, Jr.	Natchitoches

Supreme Court Tasks LSBA with MCLE Administration

he Louisiana Supreme Court, in conjunction with the Louisiana State Bar Association, announced that, as of Jan. 1, 2018, the Court's Mandatory Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) program will be administered by the Louisiana State Bar Association (LSBA).

Attorneys licensed to practice law in Louisiana are required to keep current on changes and developments in the law through continuing legal education, in accordance with Rule XXX of the Supreme Court rules.

"Our MCLE program protects the public by ensuring that Louisiana attorneys are familiar with the latest developments in the law. We appreciate the LSBA's willingness to accept the responsibility of administering this important program," said Chief Justice Bernette Joshua Johnson, who also noted that the Court will retain jurisdiction to determine the MCLE requirement and certify non-compliant attorneys ineligible to practice law for failure to comply with the Rules.

MCLE Director Kitty Hymel and MCLE staff, now LSBA employees, will maintain their current office location in Metairie, La., for the immediate future. Efforts are underway to physically relocate MCLE operations to the Louisiana Bar Center and fully integrate MCLE administration into the LSBA information technology systems, with a target completion date of mid to late 2018.

"We are very pleased and honored to be entrusted once again with the administration of Mandatory Continuing Legal Education, an important component in ensuring that our lawyers remain abreast of changes and developments in the law," said LSBA President Dona Kay Renegar.

The Court is currently preparing

amendments to Supreme Court Rule XXX (Rules for Continuing Legal Education) to clarify the LSBA's administrative and regulatory role. The Rules dictate that lawyers must attend 12.5 hours of approved continuing legal education each calendar year, including one hour of ethics and one hour of professionalism, with a special law office management requirement for newly admitted lawyers. The Rules also address other methods of earning credit, including but not limited to teaching, writing scholarly articles and doing pro bono work.

"As the last self-regulated profession, we need to ensure that all of our members are meeting the highest ethical and professionalism standards. Partnering once again with the Court on MCLE will be helpful in reaching those targeted goals," Renegar added.

Additional information on the MCLE program is available at: www.lsba.org/mcle.



From left, Louisiana Supreme Court Justice Jefferson D. Hughes III, Louisiana Center for Law and Civic Education President Lawrence J. Centola III, Benton Middle School teacher Jennifer Traweek, and LSBA President Dona Kay Renegar. Traweek was presented with the President's Award of Excellence for Outstanding Law-Related Education Teacher during the Louisiana State Bar Association's Midyear Meeting in January. *Photo by Matthew Hinton Photography.*



LSBA President Dona Kay Renegar presented all the 50-, 60- and 70-year honorees in attendance with a medal recognizing their career achievement. John N. Gallaspy of Bogalusa was one of the 60-year honorees. *Photo by Matthew Hinton Photography.*



2018 Midyear Meeting