Good morning everyone, hope all is well with you.

Plenty of emails the last 24 hours with playoffs beginning in our districts, PIAA postseason bulletins and
PIAA playoff contracts. The postseason bulletin is excellent and is to be posted on the PIAA website soon
as well. In addition to the postseason bulletin, the media timeout procedure is there also. Take a look at
the PIAA Basketball site to see these documents.

Today’s tip......an interesting play since it involves the shooter being fouled twice....once each by two
different players. Take a look here and see what you have.

On this play, the crew determined that the first contact (foul) was intentional. The second contact was
committed against the player who shot as well. So how is THIS handled in NFHS?

FIRST, we need to determine if the second contact happened before the airborne shooter landed.

1) IFitis determined that he landed, then the ball is dead when the airborne shooter lands in this
case, since the shot was blocked and it is ‘certain the throw is unsuccessful.” Take a look at the
following to determine the ball is dead:
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ART. 4

The try ends when the throw is successful, when it is certain the throw is unsuccessful, when the thrown ball touches
the fleor or when the ball becomes dead.
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ART. 1
The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:

A goal, as in 5-1 is made.

ART. 2
The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:
It is apparent the free throw will not be successful on a:
a. Free throw which is to be followed by ancther free throws.

b. Free throw which is to be followed by a throw-in.

ART. 3
The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:

A held ball cccurs, or the ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange.

ART. 4
The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:

A player-control or team-control foul cccurs.


http://www.piaa.org/sports/basketball/default.aspx
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0BdW-mdo6vcN0habVZycTRTblE/view?usp=sharing

ART. 5
The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:

An official's whistle is blown [ see exceptions a and b below).

ART. &
The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:

Time expires for a quarter or extra peried (see exception a below).

ART. T
The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:

A foul, other than player-control or team-contrel, cccurs (see exceptions a, b and ¢ below).

ART. 8
The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:

A free-throw viclation by the throwing team, as in 9-1, cccurs.

ART. 9
The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:
A violation, as in Rule 9, Sections 2 through 13, occurs (see exception d below).

EXCEPTION: The ball does not become dead until the try or tap ends, or until the airborne shooter returns to the floor,
when:

a. Article 5, 6, or 7 occurs while a try or tap for a field geal is in flight.
b. Article 5 or 7 occurs while a try for a free throw is in flight.

c. Article 7 occurs by any opponent of a player who has started a try or tap for goal (is in the act of shooting)
before the foul cccurred, provided time did not expire before the ball was in flight. The trying motion must be
continuous and begins after the ball comes to rest in the player's hand(s) on a try or touches the hand(s) on a tap,
and is completed when the ball is clearly in flight. The trying motion may include arm, foot or boedy movements
used by the player when throwing the ball at hisfher basket.

d. Article 9 as in 9-3-3 or 2-13-1, occurs by an opponent.

NOTE: If A1's try or tap is legally touched in flight, the goal counts if made, if the period/quarter ends before or after the
legal touching. If the touching is interference or goaltending by Team A, no points are scored. If Team B viclates, the
points are awarded — either two or three depending on whether it was a two or three-point try or tap.

Since the ball is dead before the second contact occurred, it is ignored unless deemed intentional or
flagrant. In this case, we would ignore it (since it does not appear intentional or flagrant). If we DID
deem it intentional or flagrant, then the penalty would be a dead ball contact technical foul and would
be assessed after the two free throws for the first foul with a throw-in to white at the division line.

2) If we deemed that the second contact occurred BEFORE he landed, then we have a false
multiple foul.....and BOTH fouls must be penalized. Here is the case play for this situation:

4.19.12 SITUATION:

B1 fouls airborne A1 who is in the act of shooting. Before airborne shooter A1 returns one foot to the floor, he/she is
fouled by B2 who has moved into A1's landing area. The ball. (a) does; or (b) does not, enter the basket.

RULING: This is a false multiple foul and each foul carries its own penalty. In (a), the goal is counted and A1l is awarded
one free throw for each foul. In (b), A1 is awarded two free throws for each foul. (10 Penalty 6, 7)



SECONDLY, we need to get the intentional on the first foul. The defender made NO play on the ball here
so we SHOULD have an intentional. The NCAA id ‘blessed’ in that they have access to a monitor to
evaluate these plays and can almost NOT call intentional immediately since they can go to the monitor
to check. WE do not have that luxury, we need to make a call from what we see live. The crew definitely
needs to help each other on plays like this. Make sure that the opposing players are separated while we
talk.

This crew did a great job of running to the spot of the contact to make sure nothing extra-curricular
happened.

So to summarize.....

A) Intentional followed by no foul since the shooter returned to the floor before the second
contact: Two free throws for white 13 with nobody on the line followed by a throw-in for white
nearest the spot of the foul.

B) Intentional followed by a second shooting foul if we would deem the second contact to have
occurred before the shooter landed back on the floor: Two free throws for white 13 with
nobody on the line for the intentional followed by 2 more free throws for white 13 for the
second foul committed against him (false multiple) with nobody on the line (since white gets the
throw-in) then a throw-in by white nearest the spot of the intentional foul. UGH!!!

C) NO intentional would be the same as each of the above except players are on the free throw
lane lines and we would resume play off the second free throw in A and the fourth free throw in
B.

IF WE CAN, if would be nice to avoid a false multiple foul situation, but if we truly have both fouls
occurring before the shooter lands, we must follow the rule and its associated penalty.

| bet all of us have at some point had a situation close to this. Just be ready to talk with your partners to
determine the penalty.

Have a great day today and safe travels!

Tim



