HISTORY of Immaculate Conception Parish:

Immaculate Conception Parish is the parish home of Catholics residing in the Montgomery County area and beyond. Members include those who have long lines of membership and service in the parish and those who have moved to the community and enthusiastically become active in the life of the parish. Immaculate Conception began as a member parish of the Archdiocese of St. Louis, and became part of the Diocese of Jefferson City when the Diocese was established in 1956. The Most Rev. Joseph Marling served as the first Bishop of the Diocese. He was succeeded by the Most Rev. Michael F. McAuliffe, who was succeeded by our current Bishop, the Most Rev. John R. Gaydos, in 1997.

The foundation of the parish began in 1842 when Mass was first celebrated in the home of Charles Worland. The first church was built in 1861 on the same parcel of land where the current church sits, and also served as the parish school. The first rectory was built in 1864. A two-story school was built between 1868 and 1873.

Today the parish buildings include the church, rectory, and school. The current church was blessed in 1885, completed in 1887, and was most recently remodeled between 1983 and 1987. The present school was built in 1950. The school closed in 1973 but reopened in 1991 and presently includes grades K-5 as well as daycare and pre-school programs. An addition to the school was completed in 1996.

The parish regularly participates in ecumenical activities and many parishioners are involved in their local communities in positions of leadership and service, making Immaculate Conception Parish a vital part of the Montgomery County area.

PASTORS of Immaculate Conception:

1853 Fr. Turk 1857 Fr. John Setters, S.J. 1860 Fr. P.M. O'Neill 1868 Fr. Michael McCabe 1875 Fr. J.J. Head 1885 Fr. Edward Casy 1896 Fr. John Gadell 1899 Fr. John Gross 1908 Fr. Thomas Alward 1916 Fr. Daniel O'Brien 1945 Fr. O'Meara 1946 Fr. Luke Naes 1955 Fr. Michael Reagan 1956 Fr. Robert Dwyer 1968 Fr. Joseph O'Rourke 1969 Fr. James Mohan 1973 Fr. Fred Barnett 1976 Fr. Norman Ahrens

1980 Fr. Hugh Behan
1983 Fr. John Degnan
1987 Fr. Edward Doyle
1992 Fr. Gerald Kaimann
2002 Fr. Christopher Cordes
2008 Fr. Donardo (Dandi) Bermejo
2009 Fr. Frank Bussmann
2011 Fr. Greg Oligschlaeger
2012 Fr. Russell Judge
2015 Fr. Austin Okoli