NEW MEXICO

The New Mexico Territory garnered statehood in 1912. Organized as a single-district state, New Mexico was originally part of the Eighth Circuit but was transferred to the new Tenth in 1929.

The District of New Mexico has seven judgeships. NM.ST.02.01 was created as a temporary position, ³ and as the first ensuing vacancy occurred in this same judgeship when Judge Philips was elevated to the Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit, his line ended. NM.ST.03 also was created this way, but this line was converted to permanent in 1961.⁴ Similarly NM.ST.08 was authorized as temporary,⁵ with the stipulation that the first vacancy on the court occurring ten or more years following the confirmation of the initial occupant would not be filled.

Statutory History				
Seat	Legislation	Authority		
NM.ST.01	Act of June 20, 1910	36 Stat. 557		
NM.ST.02	Act of September 14, 1922	42 Stat. 837		
NM.ST.03	Act of February 10, 1954	68 Stat. 8		
NM.ST.04	Act of June 2, 1970	84 Stat. 294		
NM.ST.05	Act of October 20, 1978	92 Stat. 1629		
NM.ST.06	Act of December 1, 1990	104 Stat. 5089		
NM.ST.07	Act of December 15, 2000	114 Stat. 2762		
NM.ST.08	Act of November 2, 2002	116 Stat. 1758		

¹Clarence E. Carter, ed., *Territorial Papers of the United States*, Volume 1 (Washington: Government Printing Office, 1934).

²See the Honorable Arthur J. Stanley, Jr. and Irma S. Russell, The Political and Administrative History of the United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit, and Henry Weihofen, New Mexico: The Territorial and District Courts, both in the Honorable James K. Logan, ed., *The Federal Courts of the Tenth Circuit: A History* (Denver: U.S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit, 1992).

³Act of September 14, 1922, 42 STAT. 837.

⁴Act of May 19, 1961, 75 STAT. 80.

⁵Act of November 2, 2002, 116 STAT. 1758.

Seat Histories					
Position #	Name	Date of Confirmation	Date of Departure	Reason	Party
NM.ST.01.01	Pope, William Hayes	February 20, 1912	September 13, 1916	Deceased	Republican
NM.ST.01.02	Neblett, Colin	February 5, 1917	July 6, 1948	Retired	Democrat
NM.ST.01.03	Hatch, Carl A.	January 17, 1949	April 5, 1963	Retired	Democrat
NM.ST.01.04	Payne, Harry Vearle	March 19, 1963	April 6, 1978	Retired	Democrat
NM.ST.01.05	Campos, Santiago E. ⁶	July 10, 1978	December 26, 1992	Retired	Democrat
NM.ST.01.06	Vazquez, Martha A. ⁷	September 30, 1993	Active	Active	Democrat
NM.ST.02.01	Phillips, Orie Leon	March 3, 1923	April 29, 1929	Elevated to Tenth Circuit	Republican
NM.ST.03.01	Rogers, Waldo H.	May 13, 1954	January 12, 1964	Deceased	Republican
NM.ST.03.02	Bratton, Howard C.	March 14, 1964	February 4, 1987	Retired	Democrat
NM.ST.03.03	Parker, James A.	November 5, 1987	September 1, 2003	Retired	Republican
NM.ST.03.04	Herrera, Judith C.	June 3, 2004	Active	Active	

⁶First Hispanic district judge appointed from New Mexico.

⁷First female district judge appointed from New Mexico.

NM.ST.04.01	Mechem, Edwin L.	October 8, 1970	July 3, 1982	Retired	Republican
NM.ST.04.02	Baldock, Bobby Ray	June 6, 1983	December 17, 1985	Elevated to Tenth Circuit	Republican
NM.ST.04.03	Conway, John E.	June 13, 1986	September 1, 2000	Retired	Republican
NM.ST.04.04	Johnson, William Paul	December 13, 2001	Active	Active	Republican
NM.ST.05.01	Burciaga, Juan Guerrero	October 31, 1979	November 9, 1994	Retired	Democrat
NM.ST.05.02	Black, Bruce D.	December 22, 1995	Active	Active	Democrat
NM.ST.06.01	Hansen, Curtis LeRoy	September 25, 1992	April 18, 2003	Retired	Republican
NM.ST.06.02	Browning, James O.	July 31, 2003	Active	Active	
NM.ST.07.01	Armijo, M. Christina	November 6, 2001	Active	Active	Republican
NM.ST.08.01	Brack, Robert C.	July 14, 2003	Active	Active	