MONTANA

Created from land that originally was part of the Dakota territory, Montana achieved statehood in 1889.¹ A single-district state residing in the Ninth Circuit, Montana has three authorized district judgeships.

MT.ST.02 was created as a temporary position in 1922, and converted to permanent sixteen years later.²

Statutory History						
Seat	Legislation	Authority				
MT.ST.01	Act of February 22, 1889	25 Stat. 676				
MT.ST.02	Act of September 14, 1922	42 Stat. 838				
MT.ST.03	Act of July 10, 1984	98 Stat. 333				

Seat Histories							
Position #	Name	Date of Confirmation	Date of Departure	Reason	Party		
MT.ST.01.01	Knowles, Hiram	February 21, 1890	April 15, 1904	Retired	Republican		
MT.ST.01.02	Hunt, William Henry	April 19, 1904	January 31, 1911	Elevated to Ninth Circuit	Republican		
MT.ST.01.03	Rasch, Carl L.	May 2, 1910	October 19, 1911	Resigned	Republican		
MT.ST.01.04	Bourquin, George M.	March 8, 1912	May 31, 1934	Retired	Republican		
MT.ST.01.05	Baldwin, James Harris	May 29, 1935	October 26, 1944	Deceased	Democrat		
MT.ST.01.06	Brown, Robert Lewis, Sr.	March 27, 1945	April 2, 1948	Deceased	Democrat		

¹Act of February 22, 1889, 25 STAT. 676.

²Act of May 31, 1938, 52 STAT. 585.

MT.ST.01.07	Murray, William Daniel	May 4, 1949	December 31, 1965	Retired	Democrat
MT.ST.01.08	Smith, Russell E.	March 25, 1966	May12, 1979	Retired	Democrat
MT.ST.01.09	Hatfield, Paul G.	May 9, 1979	February 9, 1996	Retired	Democrat
MT.ST.01.10	Molloy, Donald W.	July 18, 1996	Active	Active	Democrat
MT.ST.02.01	Pray, Charles Nelson	February 8, 1924	April 10, 1957	Retired	Republican
MT.ST.02.02	Jameson, William J.	March 26, 1957	February 27, 1969	Retired	Republican
MT.ST.02.03	Battin, James F.	February 25, 1969	February 13, 1990	Retired	Republican
MT.ST.02.04	Shanstrom, Jack D.	May 11, 1990	January 30, 2001	Retired	Republican
MT.ST.02.05	Cebull, Richard F.	July 20, 2001	Active	Active	Republican
MT.ST.03.01	Lovell, Charles C.	April 3, 1985	June 14, 2000	Retired	Republican
MT.ST.03.02	Haddon, Sam E.	July 20, 2001	Active	Active	Republican