## Marion Township Board of Supervisors Reorganizational Meeting, January 4, 2016 @ 6:00 p.m.

Present: Archie Gettig Jr., Herb Chapman, Rick Dillon, and Angel Emery

Guest: Brian McCauley, Isaiah Hall, and Jerry McCloskey

Meeting called to order at 6:02 p.m. followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Dillon was sworn in to office by Emery.

Gettig opened elections for temporary chairman. Dillon elected Chapman temporary chairman. Chapman elected Gettig as temporary chairman. Gettig seconded nomination for Chapman to be temporary chairman. 3-0

Gettig made a motion to appoint Angel Emery as Temporary Secretary, Dillon seconded. 3-0

On a motion by Dillon and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Chapman, Archie Gettig Jr. was appointed Chairman of the Board. 3-0

On a motion by Dillon and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Gettig, motion passed to appoint Herbert Chapman as Vice Chairman of the Board 3-0

On a motion by Gettig and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Chapman, motion passed to appoint Angel Emery as Secretary/Treasurer and Open Records Officer 3-0.

On a motion by Gettig and second by Dillon, motion passed to increase Secretary/Treasurer's pay by \$.50 per hour. 3-0

On a motion by Gettig and second by Dillon, motion passed to approve Isaiah Hall as elected constable 3-0.

Dillon made a motion to appoint Louise Biancuzzo as Secretary of the Planning Commission with compensation to be set at \$40.00 per month regardless of whether a meeting is held or not, with Angel Emery being the backup Secretary for the Planning Commission. Emery accepted. 2<sup>nd</sup> by Gettig, motion passed 3-0.

Gettig made a motion, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Chapman to re-appoint employees who are not elected officials as follows:

- a. Road Masters- Jim Sampsell, Tobin Kunes, Barry Barner, Brian Hovies, and Rick Dillon
- b. Zoning Officer- Tim Weight
- c. Collector of Local Tax Enabling Act Taxes- Centre Tax Agency of State College, PA

On a motion by Dillon and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Gettig, motion passed to reappoint Christian Vinten-Johansen for the vacancy board. 3-0

On a motion by Gettig and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Chapman motion passed to appoint Jim Sampsel, Tobin Kunes, Barry Barner, Brian Hovies and Rick Dillon as Road Masters 3-0.

On a motion by Gettig and second by Chapman, motion passed to ask auditors to allow the same raise compensation for working supervisors as all other employees, which is \$.50/hour. 3-0

On a motion by Dillon and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Chapman motion passed to set wages for the following positions as noted: Head Road master- \$14.50/hour --- Road master #1- \$14.25/hour --- Road masters- \$13.50/hour --- Secretary/Treasurer- \$15.00/hour --- Zoning Officer- \$13.25/hour and \$463.75 per month for 35 hours worked per month 3-0.

On motion by Chapman, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Dillon motion passed to appoint Gettig as Head Road master 3-0

On a motion by Gettig 2<sup>nd</sup> by Dillon motion passed to appoint Chapman Road master# 1. 3-0

On a motion by Gettig 2<sup>nd</sup> by Chapman motion passed to appoint Dillon as Road master 3-0

Meeting temporarily adjourned at 6:22 due to a phone call. Gettig reconvened meeting at 6:24.

On a motion by Gettig and 2nd by Chapman, motion passed to keep Treasurer's bond at \$200,000 and recommend the auditors approve the amount. 3-0

On a motion by Gettig and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Dillon motion passed to retain Louis Glantz as the Township Solicitor and accept fee schedule provided 3-0

On a motion by Dillon and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Chapman motion passed to accept the fee schedule and reappoint Don Franson as the Township Engineer 3-0

Gettig made a motion to accept the fees provided by Stan Wallace and reappoint him as the Township SEO with Jeffery Kreger as the alternate SEO providing Kreger provides a letter stating that he accepts Wallace's fees. A letter needs to be sent to Wallace regarding previous circumstances of complaints about his timeliness 2<sup>nd</sup> by Chapman motion passed 3-0

On a motion by Dillon and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Chapman motion passed to reappoint Jerry McCloskey as the Township EMC officer with Mark Ott as the deputy 3-0

The vacancy on the Zoning Hearing Board was discussed, one position is open, as well as the need for auditors. Any interested residents for either vacancy should contact the township office. Gettig would like a letter sent to Ed Poorman instructing him to find an attorney for the zoning hearing board.

On a motion by Gettig and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Dillon, motion passed to reappoint Herb Chapman to the Parks and Recreation Board 3-0.

On a motion by Gettig and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Chapman, motion passed to appoint Archie Gettig and Rick Dillon as representatives for the Nittany Valley Joint Planning Commission. 3-0

Gettig made a motion to appoint Linda Neff and Gloria Sampsel as auditors until the 2017 election, Chapman seconded and motion passed 3-0.

On a motion by Gettig and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Chapman motion passed to accept resolution 2016-1 naming Baker, Tilly, Virchow, Krause LLP as the CPA firm to perform the 2015 audit 3-0

On a motion by Chapman and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Dillon motion passed to continue using Jersey Shore State Bank as the depository for Marion Township 3-0

Gettig made a motion to accept meeting dates for 2016 with the corrections made, 2nd by Chapman, motion passed 3-0

On a motion by Gettig and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Dillon motion passed to accept New Year's Day, Memorial Day, 4<sup>th</sup> of July, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day as holidays for overtime pay (time and ½) for emergency work ONLY if needed 3-0

Gettig made a motion to retain current building rental fees, 2nd by Chapman motion passed 3-0

Gettig made a motion to accept the following resolutions to stay in effect: #2004-10; 1992-3; 2009-61; 2010-3; 92-2; 1996-3; 2004-11; and 2004-12 2<sup>nd</sup> by Chapman, motion passed 3-0

On a motion by Gettig and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Chapman motion passed to keep Resolution #2001-2 as the Tax Collector Compensation and service fee 3-0

On a motion by Gettig and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Dillon motion passed to retain Keystone Inspection Agency as the Townships Building Code Official 3-0

On a motion by Gettig 2<sup>nd</sup> by Chapman motion passed to accept Resolution 2008-4 on IRS mileage rate 3-0

## On a motion by Chapman and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Dillon motion passed to accept Resolution 2012-2 HOP fee as is 3-0

No Old Business

Public Comments:

Jerry McCloskey announced that he will be retiring from his EMC position at Marion Township after almost 30 years effective February 1, 2016. He stated that Mark Ott will fill in until we can find someone to fill the position. The Board of Supervisors thanked McCloskey for his many years of service and dedication. Gettig instructed Emery to type McCloskey a letter of appreciation on behalf of the Marion Township Board of Supervisors.

On a motion by Gettig, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Chapman meeting adjourned at 7:05 p.m.

Angel Emery, Secretary/Treasurer

Archie Gettig Jr., Chairman

Herbert Chapman, Vice Chairman

John R. Dillon, Supervisor