## Minutes of the Meeting of the Marion Township Planning Commission May 2, 2017

Present: Jim Sampsell, Christie Holloway, Rick Dillon and Louise Biancuzzo
Guests: None
Public comment: None
The meeting was called to order at 7:37 by Holloway with the pledge of allegiance to the flag.
Holloway made a motion to approve the minutes of the Marion Township Planning Commission meeting of April 3, 2017. Dillon seconded the motion. All voted in favor of the motion.
Old Business: Holloway submitted the Non-Commercial Keeping of Livestock Ordinance to Angel for the Supervisors meeting.
Holloway submitted to Liz the comments on the Economic Development Chapter of the Nittany Valley Region Comprehensive Plan. Dillon commented that the Economic Development Chapter of the Nittany Valley Region Comprehensive Plan should address rural-agricultural development.
Dry hydrants discussion: Holloway has a copy of an ordinance on re-cooping costs from insurance companies for the emergency services provided by fire companies. Everyone will review this sample ordinance and discuss it at next monthly meeting. Dillon made a motion to forward a copy of this to the Supervisors for their review and comment. Sampsell seconded the motion. All voted in favor of the motion.
Howard Fire Company would like Marion Township to put an ordinance in place to re-coop costs for emergency services provided.
Dry hydrants installed within Marion Township -  * maintenance * liability *see if fire companies use them * design * cost & accessibility * Adequately maintained dry hydrants is a big issue. Also an in writing contract and inspection procedures are also items to be considered.
Holloway at the next NVJP meeting wants to see what other townships are experiencing with this issue and if they have maintenance plans or what other townships are doing in regard to dry hydrants.
New Business: None
Holloway made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 8:14 p.m. Sampsell seconded the motion.
Respectfully submitted:
Louise Biancuzzo, Secretary Marion Township Planning Commission

Jim Sampsell

Rick Dillon

Christie Holloway, Chairman