
Good morning! 
 
Hope your game went well last evening! 
 
Rebounding……what do you look for on rebounding action? There will most likely be lots of contact on 
rebounds (we DO officiate a contact sport!). Much of the contact on rebounds is legal but some of it 
certainly is not. What can the ‘inside’ rebounder do illegal? For one, he/she could back into and dislodge 
the player he/she is boxing out……foul. What about the player from behind? Certainly two actions come 
to mind…..1) jumping on/over the back and 2) pushing from behind. After the rebound is secure, we 
could have a nearly automatic foul for an opposing player ‘raking’ on the rebound (reaching in after the 
rebound is secured). 
 
Take a look at the clip with rebounding action here. 
 
Good call? GREAT call! What did white 15 do? He came in from behind and put his left hand on green 
33’s back and when the rebound bounces their way, extends the arm pushing green 33 forward and out 
of position to obtain the rebound. In this case, ‘the wrong team got the rebound due to the foul’ or 
‘white got the rebound because of the push in the back.’ IF GREEN 33 had recovered the rebound (and 
not fell to the floor or traveled, for example), we MAY be able to pass on the contact (since no 
advantage was gained). In THIS particular case, white clearly gained an advantage by the slight push in 
the back on green 33. Players bodies usually do not make sudden moves forward after being in the air 
like green 33’s body did! The Lead SAW what happened. Remember that slight contact on an airborne 
player can have a big effect on what the airborne player was intending to do. 
 
This is a great call by the L……now, since the foul was on the rebound, we need to make sure we know 
who the shooter is if we are shooting bonus free throws. This is when C and T (three-person game) or T 
(two-person game) need to help if possible. 
 
This should be another pregame topic – something like ‘let’s let the players rebound, but make sure they 
are vertical – no on the back or dislodging either way,’ or ‘let’s not penalize player who can jump out of 
the gym if they do not create an advantage.’ Just getting it in your head helps as the games starts. These 
are situations that don’t take lots of time in a pregame conference with your partners but gets all of 
your minds on the same page and more ready for situations like this. 
 
Tuesday Extra: Disqualified player procedure…….as soon as the table notifies you that you have a fifth 
foul, the reporting official MUST first turn to his/her partner(s) and tell them we have a fifth foul and to 
not put the ball in play. After a confirmation from partner(s), go to the coach and say ‘coach, that is the 
fifth foul on #23. I need a sub at the table before the second horn in 15 seconds.’ Now turn to the timer 
and say ‘give me a horn right now…….(timer sounds the horn) and I need another horn 15 seconds from 
right now.’ Doing this makes it explicitly clear to the coach what he must do and also to the timer that 
we must have another horn in 15 seconds.  By rule, the coach has 15 seconds to get the substitute to the 
table. If he does not, it is a direct technical foul to the head coach. Being preventative and ‘walking’ the 
coach and timer through this helps avoid bigger issues! 
 
On another note, some people have been getting an ‘invalid parameter’ message when trying to watch 
the video clips. On your phone, it appears that this will not happen if you have the google drive app 
installed and also seems to have no issues when using google chrome. Sorry for this and hope you are 
seeing the clips! 
 
Have a great game today! 
 
Tim 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0BdW-mdo6vcbnEyQ2N5Qzl6WTA/view?usp=sharing

