Volume 22, Issue 1 Spring 2013



# The Water Spout

# Upcoming Dates in 2013

- April 1, Membership Directory Update. 2013 membership dues should be paid by this date to be included in the update.
- Texas Water 2013, April 9-12, Galveston, TX
- Texas Food Safety Conference, April 22, 23, Austin, TX
- Texas Water Conservation
   Association Mid-Year Conference, June 19-21, Galveston,
   TX
- Nov 5-7, Irrigation Association Show, Austin, TX.

### Annual Membership Meeting and Banquet held in San Antonio, January 9, 2013

The TAIA Annual Membership Meeting and Banquet this year was held in conjunction with the Beltwide Cotton Conferences in San Antonio, January 7-10, 2013. The banquet and meeting was held at La Margarita Restaurant with 27 members in attendance. New officers for 2013 were elected along with three new members of the Board of Directors.

#### Officers are:

President: Nich Kenny, Agrilife Extension Service \*

Vice President: Andy Brumley, Waggoner & Sons Electric

Secretary-Treasurer: Mark Stutler, SWISH, Inc.

#### New board members are:

Wyatt Bosse, ABM Irrigation

Ronnie Dubois, Massey Irrigation

James Prochaska, JNM Technologies

Guest speaker was Dr. Dan Hardin of the Texas Water Development Board addressing a topic of interest to all Texans: *The 2012 Texas State Water Plan*. Dr. Hardin stressed the urgency of implementing the plan in a timely matter by local entities as delay means increased cost as well as lost opportunities and revenues resulting from water shortages. He also made it very clear that **everyone** in the state has an interest in the plan whether they recognize it or not.

\* See related article page 2

# Greetings from your Board of Directors for 2013!

#### Nich Kenny leaves Agrilife, TAIA and Texas

Having been elected to serve as the 2013 President of the Texas Agricultural Irrigation Association at the Annual Banquet and Membership Meeting in January, Nich's presidency was short lived. On February 1, Nich resigned from the Texas Agrilife Extension Service to pursue interests in production agriculture in his native state of Arizona. Nich's outstanding contributions to irrigated agriculture in the state of Texas will be sorely missed, as will his dedication and service to TAIA. Nich served several years on the board of directors and for the past two years was the Secretary-Treasurer and Vice President. He was instrumental in organizing and conducting the High Plains Irrigation Conference and Trade Show and was largely responsible for its success over the years.

Nich was keenly interested in promoting IA Certification for irrigation technicians in the state and had initiated efforts to implement training courses to accomplish that. Hopefully that interest and effort will continue under the new board of directors.

We wish Nich the best in his new endeavors and know that he will be successful in these pursuits, always serving irrigated agriculture.

With Nich's resignation of course came the necessity of selecting his replacement. In accordance with procedures established in the by-laws, the Board of Directors voted unanimously to reinstate past-president Layne Hardesty. Welcome back, Layne, we look forward to your continued leadership.

#### **Dick Laursen Memorial Scholarship**

Current recipients of the TAIA scholarship are: Calvin Welper, Texas Tech University; James Mahaffey, Texas A&M University; Levi Schaefer, Texas Tech University; and Shelby Redgate, Texas A&M University.

Scholarship application deadline this year was March 1. By that time 19 applications were received and those applications have been forwarded to this year's scholarship committee consisting of Brian Frerich, Chairman; Rusty Houston and Steven Driewer. The committee will announce their candidate selection by May 1 so the recipient can be announced at their high school commencement ceremonies. Thanks to the scholarship committee for their efforts!

Looking forward to 2014, applications may be submitted beginning **October 1, 2013** and the deadline will be **March 1, 2014**. More information and application forms are available on the website: **www.taia.org.** 

If you would like to contribute to the scholarship fund you may send a check to TAIA, marked <u>Scholarship Fund</u>, Box 10613, Lubbock TX 79408. Thanks for your support in providing educational opportunities to agricultural students in Texas.

# **South Texas Irrigation Conferences**

Charles Swanson, Texas Agrilife, reports 95 attendees and 16 vendors at the recent South Texas Irrigation Conference in Weslaco and 90 attendees and 14 vendors at the Lower Rio Grande Irrigation Conference in Hondo. Those in attendance gave great marks to each of the conferences. Based on survey results, over 75,000 irrigated acres were represented



# **High Plains Irrigation Conference and Trade Show**

Another very successful Conference and Trade show was held in January at the Civic Center in Amarillo An estimated 170 attendees visited the booths of 29 exhibitors and heard presentations in the technical sessions ranging from pumping plants to pesticide and fertilizer considerations to irrigation system management. Thanks to all our conference speakers and exhibitors for their contribution to the quality of the conference.



A special thanks to our sponsors for this year's show

Eco-Drip Irrigation

Equipment Supply, Inc.

Netafim USA



# WWW.TAIA.ORG



#### TAIA

PO Box 10613 Lubbock, TX 79408 Phone: 806-786-5644

E-mail: taia@taia.org

#### 2013 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

President: Layne Hardesty, Equipment Supply Co., Inc. At-Large: Steven Driewer, McCrometer Great Plains

Vice-President: Andy Brumley, Waggoner & Sons Electric, Inc. At-Large: Ronnie Dubois, Massey Irrigation

Secretary/Treasurer: Mark Stutler, SWISH, Inc.

Immed. Past President: Layne Hardesty

West Rep.: Albert Reyna, Kroy Industries

East Rep.: Wyatt Bosse, ABM Irrigation

North Rep.: Len Sheets, T-L Irrigation

South Rep.: James Prochaska, JNM Technologies

**Nominations Committee:** 

Farris Hightower, Lindsay Corporation (Chair)

Albert Reyna, Kroy Industries

**Scholarship Committee:** 

Brian Frerich, Eco-Drip Irrigation, (Chair)

Rusty Houston, Diversified Sub-Surface Irrigation, Inc.

Steven Driewer, McCrometer Great Plains

**Auditing Committee:** 

Keden Burk, Eurodrip USA, Inc. (Chair) Mike Buxkemper, Watermaster Irrigation

#### **Affiliate Members of:**

Texas Agriculture Council, www.texas.coop Irrigation Association, www.irrigation.org The Groundwater Foundation, www.groundwater.org Texas Groundwater Association, www.tgwa.org Texas Water Conservation Association, www.twca.org