2014 Kentucky District Tournament Results

Listed here are the finalists in Speech, the top seven in Congress, and the top four in Debate as determined from our 2014 District Tournament plus the winners of Policy Debate. Due to the fact that some students placed highly enough to qualify in more than one event, some students who placed first or second turned down their national qualifications to attend in other events, moving up the next qualifiers based on their Single Entry Letters of Intent. The students who will be representing the

Commonwealth of Kentucky at 2014 Nationals are listed in Diue.

SPEECH

Dramatic Interpretation

- 1. Elijah Thomas, Larue County
- 2. Kyle Powers, Rowan County
- 3. Clay Edwards, Boone County
- 4. Joseph Newcomb, Rowan County
- 5. Laurel Payne, Danville
- 6. Olivia Paige Nickell, Rowan County

Duo Interpretation

- Curtis Milby and Elijah Thomas, LaRue County
- 2. Kyle Powers and Bridget Kim, Rowan County
- 3. Clay Edwards and Colin Waters, Boone County
- 4. Austin Barringer and Hannah Draut, Danville
- 5. Grant Markwell and Yulia Perevozchikova, *Rowan County*

Humorous Interpretation

- 1. Cloe Anderson, Danville
- 2. Zachary Ramey, Rowan County
- 3. Curtis Milby, LaRue County
- 4. Noah Rudloff, Greenwood
- 5. Micheal Hassel, Paducah Tilghman
- 6. Akhito Hosoda, Rowan County

International Extemp

- 1. Brian Anderson, LaRue County
- 2. Sue Cook, Danville
- 3. Emma Jackson, Danville
- 4. Andrew McKinney, Danville
- 5. Megan Armstrong, Rowan County
- 6. Lane Hedrick, Rowan County
- 7. John Moremen, Trinity

Original Oratory

- 1. Connor Hutcherson, Ryle
- 2. Bridget Kim, Rowan County
- 3. Abbey Geurin, Rowan County
- 4. Julia Gensheimer, South Warren
- 5. Isabella Thaxton, Rowan County
- 6. Meg Hancock, Paducah Tilghman

United States Extemp

- 1. Brian Anderson, LaRue County
- 2. Megan Armstrong, Rowan County
- 3. Andrew McKinney, Danville
- 4. Sue Cook, Danville
- 5. Lane Hedrick, Rowan County
- 6. Connor Hutcherson, *Ryle*

DEBATE

Lincoln-Douglas Debate

- 1. Beccy Musal, Highlands Latin
- 2. Kayla Soren, DuPont Manual
- 3. Joseph Lawal, Ryle
- 4. Emily Hu, DuPont Manual

Policy Debate

Advancing to Nationals: Crum-Henderson and Boomershine-Hauersperger, Highlands Latin

Public Forum Debate

- 1. Liu and Nair, Dunbar
- 2. Chen and Chu, Dunbar
- 3. Moremen and Rice, Trinity
- 4. Carlilsle and Anderson, Rowan County

CONGRESSIONAL DEBATE

House Of Representatives

- 1. Megan Armstrong, Rowan County
- 2. Emma Jackson, Danville
- 3. Josi Stidham, Hazard
- 4. Joey Gearon, LaRue County
- 5. Benjamin McAllister, Danville
- 6. Elijah Thomas, LaRue County
- 7. Zachary Ramey, Rowan County

Senate

- 1. Andrew McKinney, Danville
- 2. Brian Anderson, LaRue County
- 3. Connor Hutcherson, Ryle
- 4. Grant Markwell, Rowan County
- 5. Mrithunjey Suresh, Ryle
- 6. Sue Cook, Danville
- 7. Steven George, LaRue County

SWEEPSTAKES AWARDS

District Plaque: Rowan County 29 pts.

Traveling Sweepstakes: Boone County 400 rounds

Speech Sweepstakes:

Rowan County
Danville
LaRue County
28 pts.

Debate Sweepstakes:

Highlands Latin
Dunbar
Ryle and DuPont Manual
pts.
pts.

Congress Sweepstakes:

Danville
LaRue County
Rowan County
17 pts.
16 pts.

2014 DISTRICT AWARDS

Student of the Year Megan Armstrong, Rowan County Coach of the Year Martha Emmons, Paducah Tilghman Harlen Hamm Award Elijah Thomas, LaRue County Susan Moore Award Josi Stidham, Hazard Leading Chapter Rowan County High School