SOUTH DAKOTA

South Dakota was admitted to the Union on November 2, 1889 as a single district exercising full federal jurisdiction, and remains so. A second judgeship, SD.ST.02, was authorized as temporary, with the provision that the first vacancy to occur would not be filled. When Judge Elliott (SD.ST.01.03) died in office in 1933, that line ended and SD.ST.02 effectively became permanent. SD.ST.03 also was legislated as a temporary line in 1954, but was converted three years later. A third continuing judgeship was created in 1978.

South Dakota is a single-district state in the Eighth Circuit with three district judgeships.⁵

Statutory History					
Seat	Legislation	Authority			
SD.ST.01	Act of February 22, 1889	25 Stat. 676			
SD.ST.02	Act of February 26, 1929	45 Stat. 1317			
SD.ST.03	Act of February 10, 1954	68 Stat. 8			
SD.ST.04	Act of October 20, 1978	92 Stat. 1629			

Seat Histories					
Position #	Name	Date of Confirmation	Date of Departure	Reason	Party

¹As provided by the Act of February 22, 1889, 25 STAT. 676.

²Act of February 26, 1929, 45 STAT. 1317.

³Act of September 7, 1957, 71 STAT. 631.

⁴Act of October 20, 1978, 92 STAT. 1629.

⁵For more history see, Peggy J. Teslow, *History of the United States District Court for the District of South Dakota* (Minneapolis: West Publishing, 1991), provided by the clerk of the court.

SD.ST.01.01	Edgerton, Alonzo J.	January 16, 1890 ⁶	August 9, 1896	Deceased	Republican
SD.ST.01.02	Carland, John Emmett	December 15, 1896 ⁷	February 6, 1911	Elevated to Commerce Court	Democrat
SD.ST.01.03	Elliott, James Douglas	June 7, 1911	January 30, 1933	Deceased	Republican
SD.ST.02.01	Wyman, Alfred Lee	May 10, 1929	December 15, 1953	Deceased	Democrat
SD.ST.02.02	Mickelson, George T.	February 9, 1954 ⁸	February 28, 1965	Deceased	Republican
SD.ST.02.03	Nichol, Fred J.	June 9, 1965	June 11, 1980	Retired	Democrat
SD.ST.02.04	Jones, John Bailey	November 18, 1981	January 1, 1995	Retired	Republican
SD.ST.02.05	Kornmann, Charles B.	March 24, 1995	Active	Active	Democrat
SD.ST.03.01	Beck, Axel John	February 28, 1958	October 27, 1969	Retired	Republican
SD.ST.03.02	Bogue, Andrew W.	April 23, 1970	July 1, 1985	Retired	Republican
SD.ST.03.03	Battey, Richard H.	October 25, 1985	January 1, 1999	Retired	Republican
SD.ST.03.04	Schreier, Karen E. ⁹	June 30, 1999	Active	Active	Democrat
SD.ST.04.01	Porter, Donald James	May 10, 1979	March 16, 1992	Retired	Democrat

⁶Recess appointment, November 19, 1889.

⁷Recess appointment, August 31, 1896.

⁸Recess appointment, December 9, 1953.

⁹First female district judge appointed from South Dakota.

SD.ST.04.02	Piersol, Lawrence	November 20, 1993	Active	Active	Democrat
	LeRoy				