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JANUARY 2022
Hitting The Wrong Ball (Rule 6.3)

It has happened to all of us. You arrive at the green to find you have hit a
stray ball found on the course rather than your own ball in play, or worse,
you have hit your playing partner’s or opponent’s ball. What should you do?

In Stroke Play:

You must go back to the original spot/lie of your ball, estimated if not known
exactly. Drop the original ball (or a substituted ball) and take the General
Penalty (two strokes.) Complete the hole with this ball. Any strokes made
with the wrong ball do not count. If two players hit each others’ balls they
must both go back and take the general penalty.

In Match Play:

If you played the wrong ball you take the general penalty which is loss of
hole in Match Play. If two players hit each other’s balls the first to make a
stroke at the wrong ball gets the general penalty (loss of hole.) If it is not
known which wrong ball was played first both players must go back and play
out the hole with no penalty.

Exception to this rule: If hitting a ball out of moving water in a penalty area
or in temporary water and it could not be identified before making the
stroke, there is no penalty. The player must correct the mistake by playing
her own ball from the original spot.


https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/video-hub.html#brightcoveId=6203292690001&pageTitle=A%20Closer%20Look%20at%20Mickey%20Wright's%20Cherished%20Artifacts&playlist=carousel

MARCH 2022
Accidentally Hitting the Ball

The USGA defines a “stroke” as the forward movement of the club with the
intention to strike the ball. Therefore, if a player accidentally hits her ball
when making a practice swing she has not made a stroke.

If this occurs on the tee area the ball is not yet in play and she merely
retees with no penalty. (Rule 6.2b(5)&(6))

If this occurs on the putting green she must simply replace her ball to the
original spot with no penalty. (Rule 13.1d(1))

If this occurs anywhere else, i.e. in a bunker, a penalty area, or in the
general area the ball is already in play. This would not be considered a
“stroke” because there was no intention to hit the ball, but because the ball
was in play it incurs a penalty. In this case, she must replace her ball to
the original spot and take a one stroke penalty. If she plays the ball without
replacing it to the original spot it becomes a two stroke penalty (or loss of
hole in match play.) (Rule 9.4)

APRIL 2022
Relief For Ball In A Yellow Penalty Area

In November we explored some new rules involving Penalty Areas. This
month we will cover how to take relief from a Yellow Penalty Area. Rule
17.1d

If a player’s ball is known or virtually certain to be in a Yellow Penalty Area
these are the relief options, each for one penalty stroke:

1) Stroke-and-Distance Relief (a player may always play again from the
original spot)

2) Back-on-the-Line-Relief
(See Explanatory Diagram on next page)

Note that the Relief Point and the Relief Area must NOT be in the Penalty
Area and if more than one area of the course is located within one club-
length of the Reference Point the ball must come to rest in the same area of
the course the ball first touched when dropped in the relief area.



DIAGRAM #1 17.1d: RELIEF FOR BALL IN YELLOW PENALTY AREA
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When it is known or virtually certain that a ball is in a yellow penalty area and the

player wishes to take relief, the player has two options, each for one penalty stroke:

(1) The player may take stroke-and-distance relief by playing the original ball or
another ball from a relief area based on where the previous stroke was made (see
Rule 14.6 and Diagram 14.6).

(2) The player may take back-on-the-line relief by dropping the original ball or
another ball in a relief area based on a reference line going straight back from
the hole through point X.

Player Notes:
In choosing this reference point, you should indicate the point by using an object
(such as a tee).

JULY 2022
Relief For Ball In A RED Penalty Area
This month we will explore how to take relief from a Red Penalty Area.

If a player’s ball is known or virtually certain to be in a Red Penalty Area the
player again has the previously discussed (April 2022) options for relief:

1) Stroke-and-Distance Relief

2) Back-on-the-Line Relief

3) Lateral Relief



a. The Reference Point is again the estimated point where the
ball crossed the margin of the Penalty Area

b. But the size of the Relief Point is now_two club-lengths

DIAGRAM #2 17.1d: RELIEF FOR BALL IN RED PENALTY AREA
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When it is known of virtually cartain that a ball is i & red panalty arsa and the playar
wishas to take relief, the player has three options, each for one penalty stroke:

(1) The player may take stroke-and-distance relief (see point (1) in Diagram &1 17.14d).

(2} The player may take back-on-the-line relief (see paint (2} in Diagram #1 17.1d).

(3} The player may take lateral relief {rad penalty area only). The raference point
for taking lateral relief is point X,

AUGUST 2022
Unusual Situations In A Penalty Area

Recently we have covered how to take relief from Yellow and Red Penalty
Areas. This month we explore some unusual situations encountered in
Penalty Areas.

1. When a ball is in a No Play Zone in a Penalty Area the ball cannot be
played as it lies and relief must be taken as discussed previously. This
situation arises frequently at The Vineyard and other area courses
where No Play Zones are Environmental Areas marked by red stakes

with green tips.



2. A player does not get relief from an Immovable Object if the Object is
in a Penalty Area.

a. An example of this might be a bridge crossing a stream that is a
Penalty Area. If the player’s ball lands on the bridge there is no
free relief. The ball may be played as it lies or relief may be
taken in the usual ways. This situation may arise at Rancho
Bernardo Inn and other area courses.

3. When a Dangerous Animal condition interferes with the play of the ball
in a Penalty Area the player may

a. Take Free Relief in the Penalty Area (no closer to the hole) or

b. Take Penalty Relief outside the Penalty Area for ONE penalty
stroke



